Accidentally Selected Netboot for startup.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by skyler88, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #1
    Greetings. I'm new to this forum. Would greatly appreciate it if u guys can offer me some advise.

    I've this old iBook G4, running on MacOS 9 which I just it just for torrent downloads. I recently made a mistake by selecting Network Startup (dumb@ss mistake) and I restart.

    And at startup, all I got was a blinking globe, and after a while it turn into a blinking folder with a question mark.

    So I did the next best thing by restarting a system restore CD by pressing C on restart. It totally did not work. Still I get this blinking globe.

    I did all sorts of stuff, like removing the battery, I even when to and extend to remove the RAM. That didn't work either.

    So now, I'm totally baffled. The bloody blinking globe just won't go away.

    Pls help.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Baklava

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #3
    Thanks for yr reply.

    I did that, all I got was a pic of a lock, a bar to type (for password?) and a arrow pic.

    Can u pls elaborate further. I do apologise, I suck at this sort of stuff.
     
  4. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #4
    In that case, you have a firmware password set. If you don't know the password then you'll need to remove one stick of RAM then reboot while holding Cmd-Opt-P-R. Keep holding until it chimes three times.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #5
    Thanks for yr reply.

    As I mentioned earlier, I did removed the RAM, then holding down Cmd-Opt-P-R and restart. Before it can even chime, it when to the blinking globe again.

    I also tried pressing Cmd-Opt-O-F. And that also requires a password, which I don't have. Heck, I didn't even set up any password for the firmware. It just came with the mac when I bought it, which I was totally unaware of.
     
  6. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #6
    Yes, saw that, but it was unclear whether you put it straight back in again. You need to hold Cmd-Opt-P-R on the first boot after adding or removing RAM, so if you took some out earlier then put it back in and hold down the keys.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #7
    Sorry about that. What I did was removed my RAM, restart while Cmd-Opt-P-R (I still got the globe), shutdown, put back RAM, restart again while Cmd-Opt-P-R. And still got the globe.

    It's really frustrating. Why can't it boot with my system restore CD?
     
  8. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #8
    Hmm, I'm not sure what to suggest then. You can't boot from CD because you have a password set; the purpose of a firmware password is to prevent booting from a device other than the one set in the Startup Disk control panel. That's also why it's not defaulting back to the hard drive after failing to find a Netboot server.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #9
    You've been most helpful. Thank you very much.

    If you or anyone can offer me some assistance. I would appreciate it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #10
    Bump

    ----------

    FYI, is there anyway I can 'force' initialise the HDD? I've nothing important inside this Mac.

    Pls. help.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #11
    Something does not add up here, you say you used it in OS 9 yet now it is asking for a firmware password at startup which you yourself didn't set.

    How the hell did you start up before, you can't startup at all if the firmware password is set and you do not input the password in ANY OS.

    Kinda fishy here.
     

Share This Page