Accidentaly bought wrong hardware, can i still use it?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by scoupe94, Feb 19, 2007.

  1. scoupe94 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    #1
    I just bought an M-Audio Firewire Audiophile off of ebay. Problem is, i meant to buy the Firewire Solo. I sort of went on ebay after i got the money and didnt think to check to make sure i didnt get the wrong one. My question is, since the audiophile has no 1/4" jack input, or a preamp, would it be possible to use this with my guitar, while not spending too much on extra harware to make them work together.
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    as you mentioned, you're missing the preamp. i assume you want to go direct from your guitar, so you're looking for a preamp w/ a hi-z input. or are you mic'ing a cabinet?

    either way, this isn't the piece you want. even if you do buy an external pre, you'd most likely be taking a +4 balanced out from that into a -10 unbalanced RCA input. workable, but not ideal. throwing good money after bad, imo.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    You could always pick up a guitar preamp/modelling effects unit and use that to interface the guitar with the line in. Bonus is that you would have an outboard effects unit for live performance as well.
     
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    now there's a lemonade from lemons idea!
     
  5. scoupe94 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    #5
    True, i guess i could use it for live performances, however, i will be using this just for home recording. I'm going to sell this and buy the Firewire Solo, thanks for your help
     

Share This Page