account / login problem

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by mnkeybsness, Mar 14, 2003.

  1. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #1
    this is a problem on my friend's emac.

    he recently had to reinstall os X 10.2

    he had a problem while using drive 10 to defrag his hard drive (it locked up) and it was in the middle of something important and the drive no longer recognized that it had any information on it.

    but all that was fixed after re-install.

    the problem now is that he can't log in from any other computer. and if you look at the attached image, you will notice that there are TWO Universal Access pref-panes (but not two in the System>Library>PreferencePanes) and there is no Accounts pane (but there is in the System>Library>PreferencePane)...what's the deal? oh and he IS the administrator.

    i already repaired permissions under his login, and tried under root. but when i was logged in as root, i noticed that the preferences were as they should appear, with only one universal access pane and the user accounts pane is there.

    anyone know what we can do about this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mnkeybsness thread starter macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
  3. unc32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
  4. mnkeybsness thread starter macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #4
    yah i already checked there and universal access is not there
     
  5. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #5
    I'm not having any troubles, and my UniversalAccess.prefpane shows up in /Library/Preference Panes/UniversalAccess.prefpane
    Could it be that he has two UniversalAccess.prepane s there, and not an Accounts.prefpane?
     
  6. mnkeybsness thread starter macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #6
    i think that's what i said already in the first post
     
  7. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #7
    delete this file.

    ~/Library/Caches/com.apple.preferencepanes.cache

    you are welcome ;)
     
  8. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #8
    I have a quick question sort of on this topic, I used CarbonCloneCopy tocopy my whole HD to the other for backup purpose (only the necessary osx apps) so When i booted from the external at the lgoin screen it said "Other" I clicked on it and tried both of my logon but neither worked. Any ideas or ways around the login screen without reinstalling the copy of osx to the HD?
     
  9. mnkeybsness thread starter macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #9
    boot from the osx cd

    from the file menu, select reset password
     
  10. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  11. mnkeybsness thread starter macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #12
    haven't been able to try yet...

    SPRING BREAK

    i'll let you know as soon as i try if it worked or not...probably next sunday or so
     
  12. mnkeybsness thread starter macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #13
    i am finally back at school...thanks sparkletone...that worked for the prefs...

    ...but we are still having a problem with logins from windows computers...

    everything works fine with my powermac with logging in from windows, so we decided to set his computer up the same way...but whenever we try to log in from a windows box, we will put in the appropriate username and password (admin and guest account) and it will just return the same login/password window only it will add "windows-computer-name/*account*" in the user name portion...what's the deal with that???
     
  13. mnkeybsness thread starter macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota

Share This Page