Activated my iPhone, no cellular data?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by komodrone, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #1
    Activated my iphone 5 earlier this afternoon. Phone works but no cellular data present. I've tried the following:
    1. Reset to factory, doesn't work
    2. restore from iPhone 4 backup, doesn't work
    3. reboot 10x, doesn't work
    4. reset network settings, doesn't work.

    what's going on?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Rooskibar03

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #2
    Same thing here. Spent 2 hours on phone with ATT and they are effen clueless. They opened a trouble ticket and will get back to me within 72 hours.

    Going to try and restore when I get home from work and see what happens.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    gsugolfer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #3
    Do you have Settings > General > Cellular turned on?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Rooskibar03

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #4
    Duh. That was almost as helpful as the lady from ATT who couldnt speak english.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #5
    Add me to the list... i'm having the same problem. Unable to activate cellular, and can't make calls.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #6
    Happend to me also, they are overwhelmed with all the phones being activated to nano sims that the network is trying to catch up, the best thing you can do is wait it out or call att and i'm not sure what they call it but they refreshed or reset the transmission to the sim and soon after that slowly it started working.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    That happened to me when I got mine. I powered it off, then powered it back on and I all of a sudden had data working. Kinda weird.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    still waiting on phone calls. i have data but only 4g not let
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    DFW
    #9
    Same thing happened to my wife when she activated her iPhone 5 this morning around 10 a.m. Central. No data at all at first -- just "AT&T" logo in the upper left with signal bars but no data connection type.

    A reboot got "4G" to come up, but LTE took about 20 minutes to light up by itself.

    Have noticed it fail back to 4G (while still in an LTE area) this afternoon around 5:00. Towers must be overloaded.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    Sorry. Deleted post because apparently I can't read. Didn't see you said you were activated. :/
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #11
    Ok, i contacted AT&T live chat from their site. They asked for IMEI and ICCID. Within 5 minutes and 1 power cycle, i can now make calls and have working data.
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12
    lady said there are like 85000 people waiting, but it is normal for data to work and not voice.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #13
    Having this same problem when trying to activate my iPhone 5. Everything looks to be activated fine, but when I try to use the internet it says "Could not activate cellular data network" and "You are not subscribed to a cellular data service".

    Called AT&T and they tried to do some resets, but said that it wasn't even making it to the phone. The second person I talked to told me that they were having activation problems in a few different places, and that I was in one of those places. Apparently my phone only partially activated, the data portion didn't activate. He told me that I would just have to wait until the activations caught up, and told me to powercycle my phone every hour to check for data. 8 hours later and I still don't have any data.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #14
    You're having a different issue that some of us are experiencing - I don't know the solution yet.

    You restored your iPhone 5 from a backup that had at some point a jailbroken and/or hacked comcenter files and/or apn profiles - and those are overwriting the new LTE settings for whatever reason. That'd be great if the UI for those settings still existed, but they haven't for several versions now.

    If you restore your phone without restoring a backup, does it work? (Hint: It probably will, no idea how to fix it and keep your backup yet)
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #15
    I suspected this was the case, but I figured that I wouldn't try to solve that suspected problem until I knew it wasn't the activation server. The guy at AT&T told me specifically that my area was having a problem, so I was having faith. I assume that I can just restore from iCloud instead of restoring from an iTunes restore, and that should do the trick. Unfortunately, I do not have a stable enough internet connection to do an iCloud restore at this time.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Shasta McNasty

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    #16
    Did you try a hard reset of the phone? Mine wasn't working either until I did this then it worked perfectly.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #17
    Folks. Tried a hard reset and reset network settings and still no lte data! When setup without restoring my backup it works fine. Any one have any solution that worked for them?
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #18


    I'm in the same boat. Coming from an jailbroken iphone 3gs that had those things the previous poster listed changed/edited.

    I can confirm that without restoring and doing a fresh "setup as new phone" it will work as intended but any attempts to restore either from icloud or itunes results in "Could not activate cellular data network" and "You are not subscribed to a cellular data service".

    I've tried multiple variations of icloud and itunes restore none work. Any one else got a clue?
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #19
    everything worked for all 3 of my phones as soon as we tried the very first time
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #20
    This seems to be a common issue based on the apple boards. However apple have no idea how to fix it :(
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #21
    I had the same problem but it's easy to fix. Customer service helped me yesterday.

    Turn off the phone for ATLEAST 30 seconds. Then power back on.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    #22
    Mine also was jailbroken and is still not activated.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #23
    We have two phones, neither of which were ever jailbroken, and both have yet to be activated.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    #24
    Well i got my phone to activate. I just set it up as a new phone, did a reboot after it was done and all was activated. ATT lte is blazing fast here.

    I then restored it with my backup and everything works good so far.
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #25
    Same problem here. I hopped on with AT&T support chat and they fixed it for me no problem. Think they had to reset the sim on their end. But now it works!
     

Share This Page