Activation Lock

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by abz1981, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #1
    Hi all

    I dont remember when setting up IO7 if I had to press an additional option to active, the new activation lock on the IO7. My understanding is the new feature, will ask for your apple ID and password in order to unlock the iphone, if it was lost or stolen. Under Icloud I do have my Find My Iphone enabled though.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    If someone steals your phone and attempts to restore it (to wipe it), it says you must first turn off Find My iPhone. So the thief goes to turn it off, but when he tries, it requires that you enter in your Apple ID password. He can no longer wipe your phone to make it look like new. It's stuck, therefore no good to thieves.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #3
    How do you activate this if you did not elect to do so when you set up your phone. I do not want to have to use a password everytime but would love to have this feature.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    You don't have to do anything. It's built in. As long as you have Find my iPhone on and an Apple ID password (which you must), it will work. To test it, plug your phone in to your computer and hit restore. It will first prompt you to disable find my iphone. Go to your phone and try to disable it, it will ask for your Apple ID password.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #5
    Oh okay so its simple as that. So no need for me to go through a restore of IO7 or anything. So from what your saying, since I have got Find My Iphone enabled on my Iphone right now. Everything is then set in place already.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    As I understand it, as Apple advertises, and as has worked on my phone, yes that should be it. :cool:
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #7
    Thanks Tyler
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    You only need your password to disable the security feature...doesn't seem like a tall order.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #9

    I have just tested it and yes it works. Cool thanks for that.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    No problem :cool:
     

Share This Page