Activity Monitor dies on launch!!!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by chatlene, Sep 10, 2004.

  1. chatlene macrumors newbie

    chatlene

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hi everybody!

    For a few days I have been trying to make "Activity Monitor" works. It opens and quits immediately. I repaired permissions, trashed finder pref (com.apple.finder.plist), run DiskWarrior, TechTool...nothing. Still not opening. I would like to avoid restoring the whole system. Any idea. Thanks for any help!


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    G5 2GHZ Dual 3GB RAM & 23" Apple Display - Mac OS X (10.3.5)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. mac4drew macrumors regular

    mac4drew

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Three questions:
    Is this the only problem you're having with your computer?

    Did you recently install your RAM?

    And, does Activity Monitor have any .plists to trash?
     
  3. chatlene thread starter macrumors newbie

    chatlene

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    It's been going on for at least 3 weeks, I mean that I noticed the problem 3 weeks ago when I wanted to monitor ram usage for some Apps and realized that it was not working anymore.
    I looked for some pref (Activity Monitor.plist) file but could not find any
     
  4. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #4
    There is (or should be) one, ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.ActivityMonitor.plist (no space).
     
  5. chatlene thread starter macrumors newbie

    chatlene

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    New York
  6. mac4drew macrumors regular

    mac4drew

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Yeah, but did you install anything or add any hardware before that happened? Usually these things just don't happen on their own...

    Unless, of course, they're plist problems. Look again for that plist pointed out by iMeowbot, that should solve your problem. To clarify, ~ means your home directory.
     

Share This Page