Activity Monitor Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JK.online, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. JK.online macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have a question regarding the figures given in the activity monitor.

    I have a Macbook 2.0GHz with 1GB Ram.

    I'm running Virtue Desktops, Microsoft Word (via Rosetta), Quicksilver and Firefox and it's giving me memory information like this:

    Wired: 181.01 MB
    Active: 356.31 MB
    Inactive: 468.07 MB
    Used: 997.39 MB

    Free:16.75 MB
    VM Size: 10.27 GB
    Page Ins/Outs: 3667/120.

    I'm just wondering if these figures are correct for what I'm doing?

    Cheers,

    Jake.
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    It looks pretty normal to me. Remember that inactive RAM is the same as free RAM for all intents and purposes. See this document for a bit more detail on how to read your memory usage.
     
  3. Silver-Fox macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #3
    does anyone know why the VM on mac's is so high, 10 gig :eek: mine was reading 8 gig today and i was doing piratically nothing :confused:
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    The virtual memory size is essentially meaningless. It's the maximum amount of virtual memory that could be used by the currently-running applications. The amount you're actually using is much, much, much less than that.
     
  5. Silver-Fox macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #5
    cool thanks for that, yeah i just wondered why it was so high on the activity monitor.
     
  6. gollum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    MI
    #6
    My numbers were always about the same in my MacBook 2 ghz before I upgraded my RAM to 2 gb's ($145 from Newegg).
    My computer is so much faster now I couldn't recommend 2 gb's higher if you can possibly afford it !!!
     
  7. chrisdazzo macrumors 6502

    chrisdazzo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    this is kind of off-topic, but has to do with activity monitor... is there any way to re-install activity monitor once it's been deleted from the system? i've tried just putting it on a flash drive and then dragging it back into the utilities folder, then opening it, but to no avail. it just quits. :(
     

Share This Page