Activity monitor question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rrmalik, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #1
    I usually have the floating CPU window displaying on some part of my monitor. However, that floating window has recently disappeared. When I try to get it to reappear (right clicking on the activity monitor icon on the dock, going to Monitors, then Floating CPU Window, and then clicking horizontal), nothing appears.

    I am at a loss... any help?

    Thanks a bunch.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Did you accidentally move the window off screen at some point? The floating window remembers it's position. Try deleting the com.apple.ActivityMonitor.plist file in ~/Library/Preferences/
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    kbmb

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #3
    Or try Expose to see if the window at least appears.

    -Kevin
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Unfortunately that won't work as the floating window gets hidden when you activate Exposé.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #5
    I tried deleting that file but to no avail. Are there any other solutions if I indeed accidentally dragged the floating window off-screen (which seems very possible to me)?

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Did you delete the file when Activity Monitor was running? If so try it again when Activity Monitor is closed.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007

Share This Page