Activity Monitor screen shot: SLOW computer.. Help/Thoughts?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cloutiere, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #1
    Did my homework and read other forums, so I've got the screen shot other experts asked users to post.
    iMac 21.5
    Safari will quit unexpectedly, very slow moving, store all pics and video's on 1T backup hard drive, so I'm thinking there is no reason for a slow computer? #dumbnovicemacmom :)
    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    When is the last time you restarted your Mac?

    If you're having performance issues, this may help:
     
  3. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    If you're still having performance issues, post a shot of the Activity Monitor with it sorted by the "Real Mem" column with the highest usage at the top.

    The bottom of the screen shot says you are using 10 GB of swap space. If the system hasn't been up for a long time or this performance issue occurs within a couple of days of rebooting, it may mean you need more RAM unless there is something else causing the issue.

    However restarting your Mac is most probably the first thing to try.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #5
    Just typed a forever long appreciative THANK YOU (it was quite an entertaining read really), however attempting to attach 2 screen shots, to my horror... "safari just quit unexpectedly". UGH!
    No fluff... just
    screen shot 1: per request sorted by RealMem
    screen shot 2: "about this Mac"

    To answer a helpful problem solver'l question... I have been using Apple starting w/ iphone 2... then a few years later invested in my first desktop (computer in question - only 4 years old), then a couple iPads (me&hubby), then a MacBookPro.

    Too many devices for a family of 4 :(, but LOVE apple products!

    I have 3 months left on my warrantee w/ this desk top... I think I will try a few of your suggestions, then call.. and finally hopefully bring it in for them to look at.

    :confused:

    I think I will submit this reply, THEN submit some attachments... here goes...
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #6
    Attachments...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #7
    PS You guys are AWESOME to distressed apple users :)

    PSS I believe we bought this computer in March 2009
     
  8. LPZ
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #8
    You just rebooted and kernel_task is using 5.42 GB? Something seems very wrong to me.

    [EDIT] OK, you haven't rebooted between the two screenshots.

    Please restart your computer and then repost an Activity Monitor screenshot.
     
  9. Shane1905, Jan 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    That's ok. We're all here to help each other :) I knew absolutely nothing about macs this time last year but this place has been amazing.
    I believe this is the ram for your iMac

    http://www.crucial.com/upgrade/appl...6GHz+Intel+Core+2+Duo+(24-inch)-upgrades.html

    Double check I got the specs right before you decide on what to do and I'm pretty sure you can only play a total of 16gb in yours, so another 8gb would bring you to that.

    Here is how you upgrade

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1423#2

    I'm still think there is an underlying reason why kernal_task is using so much of your current ram, but a ram upgrade is the cheapest and easiest thing you can do to make you mac or pc faster.

    Good luck and i hope this helps you

    ----------

    Me again, I've just noticed that inkjet8 seems to be using a fair bit and could be influencing kernal_task, try unplugging your printer from your mac and see if it lowers.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #10
    After a reboot :)
    A bit better!
    Do I still need more ram?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    To determine if you can benefit from more RAM, launch Activity Monitor and click the System Memory tab at the bottom to check your page outs. Page outs are cumulative since your last restart, so the best way to check is to restart your computer and track page outs under your normal workload (the apps, browser pages and documents you normally would have open). If your page outs are significant (say 1GB or more) under normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. If your page outs are zero or very low during normal use, you probably won't see any performance improvement from adding RAM.

    Using Activity Monitor to read System Memory and determine how much RAM is being used
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #12
    A very simple and easy way to check.
    Thank you! I did notice that page outs (whatever that is:) is at zero. YAY!:)
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #13
    Was the initial screen shot taken when you had Parallels, VMware, or somesuch running? With a large amount of hardwired RAM, that's an indication. If you are running those, try dialing back the memory requirements. Or, as suggested, buy more memory if you can -- it's relatively cheap these days.
     
  14. LPZ
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #14
    No, you're not paging out. No need for more RAM.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #15
    Ahhhh, but wait!
    I shut the iMac down and restarted. One day later, 8 items open (I think that chugs speeds a bit?) I am back to a sluggish computer.
    Here is an updated pic

    UUUUUGGGGHHHHHH!
     

    Attached Files:

  16. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    Your printer software appears to be consuming an unusual amount of RAM. You might try uninstalling it completely, unless it provides functionality you need, in which case, uninstalling and reinstalling it.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #17
    Definitely remove your printer software. 4.5gb for what should be an idle process most of the time? That's your culprit.
     

Share This Page