Activity Monitor won't open

Discussion in 'macOS' started by elbirth, Feb 27, 2006.

  1. elbirth macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, US
    #1
    When I try to launch Activity Monitor either from the Dock or from the Applications folder, it doesn't seem to do anything. The Dock icon will bounce once, but that's it.
    I just recently used Monolingual to remove the access localization files that I'll never used, as well as removing the non-Intel code for programs. This killed a couple things I had installed since they were not Universal, but reinstalling those worked. I'm wondering if this had something to do with it. I've rebooted and repaired disk permissions, but nothing is working...

    Anyone have any advice?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    It might be an Intel-code thing but drag a file named com.apple.ActivityMonitor.plist to the Desktop all the same. Hopefully it's merely a corrupt preference file. :)
     
  3. elbirth thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, US
    #3
    still nothing.... I'm thinking I screwed something up really bad by using Monolingual to remove the PowerPC code or something... that's the only thing I can think of, because I'm now also noticing a few other non-Intel-based apps aren't loading either... luckily this is my new MacBook Pro which I've only had a week, so I think I'm going to backup the stuff I've put on here so far and do a clean install... and just start fresh....
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Yeah, that's probably for the best. As a rule of thumb, I'd stay away from hacks like this until Intel Macs become a little more prevalent. It's okay to remove these files from PPC machines but considering Intel machines are so new, I'd wait and let other people work out which ones are compatible. :)

    Hopefully this works, good luck with it. :)
     
  5. elbirth thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, US
    #5
    The reinstall finally finished. It actually went through and seems to have essentially repaired the install, because everything is still intact that I've installed. All of my programs are back functioning as well, which is great.

    Thanks for the input, and yeah, I think I'll definitely be more cautious in messing with things... I'm used to tweaking Windows a lot, but this being my first Mac, I'm nowhere near as familiar.
     

Share This Page