Ad hoc network

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by ramz003, Feb 21, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #1
    In ML anyone know how to create a ad hoc network?? I couldnt find it.

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #2
    Would like to know this too
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #3
    Me, too.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    #4
    Really? It's been changed? Normally you go to Wi-fi and "Create Network..." Wow, if this was taken out, that will be unbelievable and beyond annoying.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #5
    Yep. That's pretty much the way it is. I have posted in the Apple Seed forums to see if there is a new way to do this.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #6
    Thanks! I thought I was one only that didnt know this...
    I cant use quasidisk any more :(
     
  7. jackhdev, Mar 27, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2012

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    #7
    I love Apple technology, but WHY are they crippling their computers to this point? There's no reason for it!
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #8
    I can't believe they would take this feature out... It's unbelievable how they are crippling their os as the previous user said... What is the os x team smoking these days...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #9
    Tried going into the Sharing system preference panel and turning Internet Sharing on?
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    #10
    Any news?
    Is there a third-party software doing the same?
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #11
    Sharing -> Internet Sharing -> Wifi Options

    calm down everyone...
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    #12
    I'm assuming you don't know what an ad hoc network is then.
     
  13. Embio, May 10, 2012
    Last edited: May 10, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #13
    why not? because you and you alone know these things?

    this gives you an ad-hoc network. if you don't have an internet connection then it still provides a network.

    It is a bit daft of Apple to over-simplify in this way but we're not at release yet.
     
  14. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    No ad-hoc network. It's gone. Internet sharing is there, but that requires an existing network connection.

    I think from Apple's viewpoint they feel ad-hoc network is replaced by AirDrop, but of course that only works for Apple products, and recent ones at that!
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #15
    internet sharing, despite the name, doesn't require a working internet connection
     
  16. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #16
    But it does require a working LAN, at least. You must associate the adapter for sharing with an adapter on a functioning network. The ad hoc network feature did not require an existing network, so could be used between a Mac and a PC over Wifi in the wilderness. Closest to this now is AirDrop between two Macs in the wilderness.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #17
    I unplugged my ethernet and turned it off, then went into wifi options, created a network, then configured internet sharing
     
  18. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #18
    The "Create Network" choice doesn't exist in Mountain Lion, at least not in the same location as it appears in Lion. If you've found it, exactly where is it?
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #19
    as I said above

    sharing -> internet sharing

    Share Connection from: Ethernet (or any other)

    To computers using: Wifi

    click Wi-Fi Options


    This does not require a working internet connection though.
     
  20. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
    Aha! Thanks. They must have implemented that with Preview 3. Previously I couldn't select "Share your connection from" if there wasn't a connection.
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #21
    I think it might be the update to DP3... but yeah.

    it's a mess. I think we'll see 'create network' coming under the the menu bar with option held down. If you go in there now theres some nice diagnostics and monitoring stuff to play with that I've not seen before and isn't in 10.7.4 :)
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    #22
    I can't create a new network on ML DP3

    When I click "Wi-Fi Options..." button, the title says to *Configure* an internet-sharing network, not to create one, like it does for Lion's "Create Network..." menu item. I then click the "OK" button, but no new Wi-Fi network appears. Clicking the "Internet Sharing" checkbox doesn't seem to help. What am I missing?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    #23
    I actually use this while on the road with a USB modem for the iDevices in the car. It really comes in handy. :)
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    #24
    Had to join the forum just to reply to this.
    The feature is still in Mountain Lion it has just been moved. Its now in the menubar.
     
  25. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #25
    Nobody was saying it wasn't in the release, just that it was missing in the early previews.
     

Share This Page