ADC Developer Discount

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Aaon, Jul 5, 2004.

1. Aaon macrumors 6502

Jun 30, 2004
    Hello All, this is my first post to Macrumors, though I have been an avid reader for a year now. I have been a PC person for years, but after using a G4 sawtooth for the past year at work, I am convinced that the Mac is the machine for me!

At any rate, my question boils down to this: I am looking to buy a Powerbook 15", 128mb vram, 512mb memory (though I'll prolly do a Crucial upgrade later). As a graduate student I can get an educational discount. However, it looks like if I join the Apple Developer Connection as a student member for $99, I can get an additional $200 off the price of the machine over the already good student discounts. I can't seem to find a catch to this, aside from being limited to a single system purchase under the program, though how many machines do I need (I chuckle at this point, since I already own 3 PCs of varying age)? Has anyone utilized the ADC program? It seems like such a good deal, yet I don't hear of anyone taking advantage of it.

On a side note, what is your opinion of the screen quality of the 15"? I am currently using an IBM A31p Thinkpad, which has, in my opinion, one of the most fantastic LCDs that I have ever seen on a portable machine. I am especially curious about the brightness levels of the screen. Is it bright and shiny? I'll mainly be using the machine for development and mathematical simulations, so I want to make sure that I won't get a headache staring at the text on the screen all day!

Well. I think that is a sufficently long post. Thanks in advance for your advice and thoughts!

2. Grimace macrumors 68040

Feb 17, 2003
    with Hamburglar.
    The 15" is a fabulous laptop. After owning one - you won't even think of another vendor ever again.