ADC membership, hidden costs?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by reajesse, Jul 8, 2003.

1. macrumors newbie

hello,
    I recently learned of the possibility of getting a discount on apple hardware by joining ADC. I am a student and am eligible. It says that I have to pay a $99 registration fee. Is that the only thing I will have to pay to received the student discount. Also do I have to do anything else besides join to get the discount. Are there any students that have joined and got the discount? let me know if it is easy or a big pain

thanks jesse

2. macrumors 6502a

maxvamp

Save your money

If you are looking for an education discount, simply go to the Apple store, and go to the bottom of the screen. You will see an icon on the right sode of the screen for the education store.

Follow it, and you should be able to find your school. You then will be taken to a special store page with discounts. The hardware discounts are minimal, while the software is often as much as 50% off.

If you want to take advantage of the hardware discounts through ADC, you need to be a select member for at least a year, or a premier member. The hardware discounts for these are high enough to help offset the cost of the dev memberships.

Hope this helps.

Max

3. macrumors 603

janey

Re: ADC membership, hidden costs?

keep in mind this: don't use the education discount. honestly it sucks. The ADC student membership comes with ONE hardware discount asset, up to 20% off the hardware you're gonna buy. The $99 will cover everything including the ADC mailing, the hardware discount, a free copy of WebObjects and other discounts and stuff. Before WWDC, Apple also chooses student developers for free passes. The only drawback is that you might have to currently be in a computer-related class.
    I almost got the student membership before my aunt got me a better one :p so i really can't help you with the experiences thing :) good luck!

4. macrumors Penryn

Abstract