Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thriftinkid

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 24, 2008
Hey guys, I have some compression software called autodesk cleaner 6.5.1. I am trying to add only the quicktime files from a folder called "finished" on my desktop. The problem is I can't get the files or even the folder to add to the render que. I get the following error:

Cleaner 6.5.1 got an error: Can't make some data into the expected type.

I posted the script I have, and the possible software dictionary commands that I think should somehow relate to getting this script to work. If anyone can help that would be great. I'm new to writing any kind of coding.

script:
tell application "Cleaner 6.5.1" to launch
tell application "Cleaner 6.5.1" to (Add) / Users / comcastcable / desktop / Finished

Possible commands:

Add v : Add a file to the current batch

Add alias : media item to add to the batch

CustomFolderLocation n
properties
name (string, r/o)
folderDestination (file specification, r/o)

GetCustomFolderDestinations v

GetCustomFolderDestinations
→ list of CustomFolderLocation

AddCustomFolderDestination v

AddCustomFolderDestination CustomFolderLocation : custom destination object to add

SetItemCustomDestination v

SetItemCustomDestination [DefaultLocation/FTPLocation/FolderLocation]
[CustomLocation string]
[CustomName string]

Eraserhead

macrumors G4
Nov 3, 2005
UK
I'd go for:
Code:
tell application "Cleaner 6.5.1"
	add (POSIX file "/Users/comcastcable/desktop/")
end tell

thriftinkid

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 24, 2008
I'd go for:
Code:
tell application "Cleaner 6.5.1"
	add (POSIX file "/Users/comcastcable/desktop/")
end tell

I tried out that script with reference to both the folder and the QT's themselves with the following and got this error:

add (POSIX file "/Users/comcastcable/desktop/Finished")
add (POSIX file "/Users/comcastcable/desktop/Finished/*.mov")