Add SSD to iMac 27" (late 2012) after delivery

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Knuckleheadz, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Knuckleheadz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingodm
    #1
    Hi All,

    I've ordered the base model 27" iMac without a FusionDrive as I have seen multiple posts on how to do this manually using 10.8.2, Terminal and the CoreStorage function - here's me trying to do it on the cheap! :)

    However I have read that the 21.5" iMac (if ordered without a FusionDrive) ship without the SATA connection/port to add an SSD at a later date.

    Does anyone know if this is the same on the 27" iMac?

    I appreciate there is still the problem of re-securing the LCD to the rest of the unit after having removed it, but I'm sure this will be resolved in time.

    Unfortunately I've not found a teardown of this unit that mentions this.

    Hoping you guys can help.

    Many thanks
    Jon
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    #2
    You might want to use the search function to find people who did a tear down already, and search on google for anyone who might have torn one apart... Hard to believe that if you buy the 27 inch with i7 that it won't have both the flash port and the SATA port on the motherboard.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Knuckleheadz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingodm
    #3
    I agree itsamacthing...

    Why would Apple have a separate logic board just for Customers who order an none FusionDrive configuration, makes no sense.

    I've Google searched already for 27" teardowns, but hadn't searched MacRumors specifically.... I'll take a look.

    Thanks
    Jon
     
  4. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #4
    And, the base 21" can now also be ordered with FD, so the connector might be on all the Logic boards now.
    I was actually the first to ask this question when this story was on MR's main page.
    If most of the Base 21" will be sold with FD then it is cheaper for Apple to always have the connector on the board.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Knuckleheadz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingodm
    #5
    thanks JustPerry,

    I'll go and hunt down that article and see if there are nay updated replies that might help me.

    Cheers
    Jon
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Knuckleheadz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingodm
    #6
    I've had a good hunt round MacRumors and other sites and I can't find anything conclusive on this.

    Can anyone else shed some light or point me in the direction of a site that confirms this?

    Many thanks
    Jon
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #7
    You want to look at the ginormous thread titled "Rip those iMacs open"... for the info you are after.

    Bottom line is that if your machine has the regular SATA hard drive it also has the needed port for a blade SSD, which you could add to your system and then have a Fusion drive.... OR, you could remove the SATA hard drive and replace it with a regulat 2.5" SSD using a bracket.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #8
    We just made a fusion drive with the terminal command, and reinstalled the os, easy! Now we have a fusion drive with 512mb Sandisk (plugged in via usb 3), and the original internal hdd, all seen as one drive by mac osx. Cool!
    Works better than expected!
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #9
    I was going to go this route, but ultimately I decided that I didn't want the hassle of an external enclosure employing the SSD piece... I will end up tearing mine open and installing an SSD inside of it, does not look too difficult.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Fried Chicken

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #10
    Has anyone managed to partition the SSD and use one half for windows boot camp and the other as a fusion drive partition?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Knuckleheadz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingodm
    #11
    Thanks everyone, I have seen that discussion whilst looking for my own thread so I will take a read.

    My only concern is getting the LCD "glued" back to the rear in a neat and tidy fashion so it looks brand new.

    Ofcourse I could go for the external SSD route as has been suggested.

    Thanks for your help... I'm off to read that thread :)
     

Share This Page