Added two XP boxes to the mix

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by zelmo, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #1
    Have been running Folding (GUI) on three Macs for the past few months:

    PB G4 1.33GHz, 1GB RAM, 24x7
    iMac G4 800, 1GB RAM, 24x7
    iMac G4 700, 576MB RAM, 24x7

    Combined, those have been averaging about 2,600 points per month for me.

    Just added today (console):

    a 3.6GHz Xeon, 1GB RAM, 800MHz system bus
    a Dual 2.4GHz Xeon, 2GB RAM, 400Mhz system bus

    How much of a jump in production should I see?
     
  2. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
  3. zelmo thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
  4. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #4
    that's strange. I have a dual 1.8 G5 and that delivers about 200 points per day easy (both procs together), when it's folding 24/7. I have a 2.0 P4 at work and that's doing a bit less then 1 1.8 G5. So, with your setup:
    dual 2.4 = 200 points
    3.6 Xeon = 150 points.

    But you probably don't have a dual script installed on the dual 2.4? And does these computers have hypertrading?? If so, then folding only uses 50% of your computing power.
     
  5. zelmo thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #5
    You are correct. I will address the error in set up of the dual Xeon box and see how that changes performance. Thanks for the tips.
     
  6. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #6
    you can also run two instances of folding on a machine with hypertreading, that could possibly be more easy.
     
  7. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #7
    Heh.

    Where'd ya get the Xeons? They sound like some nice beasts.

    I'd love to have the Dual Processor one for my video crunching/gaming machine.
     
  8. zelmo thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #8
    The dualie is our back-up rip at work [prepress]. It doesn't do anything all day long, just sits there ready in case the primary should fail. Such a waste of a machine.
    The other Xeon in my new PC at work, which is way underutilized, or was until I put Folding on it.

    Both were done with the permission of my boss and the IT guy.

    Exactly what we did today. Thanks.
     
  9. zelmo thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #9
    Things are running well of late. Now averaging around 300ppd. I have 2 instances of Folding running on the Xeon 3.6, but the IT guy decided he was only going to let me use one processor on the dualie...because he took the other one to Fold for Team MR.

    He's got the other processor, a Xeon box on his desk at work, an eMac at work, plus his laptop and two PIII servers at home. He is ke3gp, and he is climbing up the ranks quickly, averaging over 500ppd since he signed on last week.
     
  10. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #10
    You should really change a couple of his computers to your name! :D
     
  11. zelmo thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #11
    No kidding. When he said he might be into Folding, I gave him our team number and my user name. He didn't fall for it, though.:p :rolleyes:
     
  12. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #12
    I have this weekend a game weekend coming up, so a couple of friends are bringing their pc with them. I really should install folding on all of them :D
     
  13. zelmo thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #13
    Every month at work, we purchase a new PC to upgrade general office computers. Right now, the typical boxes we are getting are 3.2GHz P4 boxes with 1GB of memory. The IT guy and I are debating the wisdom/stupidity of installing Folding on them, and switching back and forth every month between user names. We got the okay from the boss to Fold on a few specific boxes, so we probably won't do this...but it's fun to plot and plan anyway.:p
     

Share This Page