Adding a 2nd Display to a 20inch Imac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by EvilDoc, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. EvilDoc macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #1
    As the title say i'm thinking of buying another monitor to go along with my iMac, i cant decide on a size. I would just use it to have itunes open and maybe aduim. So those of you with iMacs and are runing dual monitors what would you suggest? I dont plan to play games on it just gimp and things like that nothing to taxing. I have a Intel iMac 20inch with 128megs or vram
     
  2. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #2
    I don't have an iMac, but if I were you, I would go for a 20" LCD just to match the size of your iMac's screen. But I suppose if you only plan to have iTunes and a couple of other apps open, you probably could squeeze by with a 17" LCD.
     
  3. verozov macrumors regular

    verozov

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #3
    i would want a 20"er just to have a little bit of symmetry, but that's just me
     
  4. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #4
    I personally would get another 20" display, either an Apple one or a Dell one. I would pick this size and those brands because they will match the size of your iMac's screen, the screen in the imac is the same as the 20" Apple display and the Dell screens use the same panels, it just bothers me if they are not the same size. I also like to have the same 2 screens so the colours will appear the same on both screens (I am a Photographer).
     
  5. Chasealicious macrumors member

    Chasealicious

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    #5
    I have a 17" iMac G5 and use the screen spanning hack to use an additional 15" LCD. It works beautifully for me, and I use the external for the exact same reason - Adium and iTunes always open and visible. Given that you already have a 20" main display, and seeing what you're wanting an external for, you could easily be satisfied by a 15" or 17" LCD. Plus, if you split 128 MB VRAM over two 20" LCDS, you may start running into dashboard/expose slowdowns with multiple windows open.
     
  6. EvilDoc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #6
    Thats what im thinking about, spliting the vram i dont want expose to be slugish i use it quite a bit. hmm. can any one recommend a good 19? or even a 17?
     
  7. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    My son has a 20" iMac G5 and he just added a Dell 2007 20" monitor to it with the screen hack, and he is extremely pleased with it. He found a freeware dock replacement that lets him put a dock (or multiple docks) on both screens.
     
  8. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #8
    Get a 20" widescreen and turn it 90 degrees. It's tasty.
     
  9. EvilDoc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #9
    so you do think another 20inch will tax my vram to much?
     
  10. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #10
    Any display you buy will tax your VRAM the same. Half goes to the iMac display and half to the external. And your video card is plenty powerful enough to drive the 2 displays so you shouldn't notice any problems.
     
  11. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #11
    I'm sure someone posted a setup quite recently, which consisted of a 20" iMac and a 20" Apple Cinema Display. It looked really neat (apart from the book being used under the foot of the ACD!)
     
  12. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #12
    I have a dell2005 on my iMac g5 im quite pleased with it, its not a must have but is def. nice with the price points of the dell 20's.
     
  13. joshwest macrumors 65816

    joshwest

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #13
    Does anyone know of this doc hack?
     
  14. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #14
    It's not a hack, it is a replacement for the functionality of the dock, and gives him customizable menues and multiple docks. I will try to find out from him the name of the program.
     
  15. keithbennis macrumors regular

    keithbennis

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Coral Springs
    #15
    I'd just leave the 20" iMac alone. It's beautiful by itself, and with Expose and all, I don't see why a second monitor is needed. But, if you must, go with another 20" widescreen monitor. Anything less would just look funny.
     
  16. EvilDoc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #16
    Thats what i wanted to know. My first mac was a 1.42 mini with only 32megs of vram and it was very slugish with expose, i would hate to have 2 nice monitors and the computer be choking. Thanks for all the input everybody!
     

Share This Page