Adding a 2nd monitor iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RaceJunkie, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #1
    Is there a way to add a 2nd monitor to a new iMac? I have the 2.4 - 24" iMac and would like to add a 19" monitor to check web site compatibility.


    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    Absolutely. Depending on whether your external monitor has a VGA or DVI input you'll need a miniDVI to VGA or miniDVI to DVI adapter, and then a standard VGA or DVI cable.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    It was hooked to my pc to the built in video. How do i determine what I need? It has the pins on the end of the plug so that would be a vga plug correct?
     
  4. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
  6. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
  7. macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
  8. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #8
    I strongly suggest using DVI.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #9
    I strongly disagree with Eidorian in a particular situation (one that I'm in)

    If your monitor has multiple inputs - and you wish to use another HD source with it (PS3, 360 or what not) then I would recommend VGA - because adapters that go from HDMI to DVI are cheap and plenty. But if you use the DVI from your imac - you will need to switch plugs - or buy an expensive switch.

    So the VGA is coming from my iMac, and when I switch to the DVI input - it's my PS3. Works nicely.

    Honestly - up to 1920 x 1200 resolution - I have yet to see any difference - and believe me, I've looked.

    But if you only plan on using one source - or your monitor only has one input - then obviously hit up DVI.

    P.S. Edorian - I wouldn't disagree had you not switched Tars on me. :)
     
  10. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #10
    It's not fun when you have to deal with clock timing and phase with VGA.

    I have preference for my computer over any other device. Text is noticeably fuzzy over VGA as well.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #11
    How far are you running? Because between 6 foot cables - I can't find any difference. Seriously. And I've had others look too.

    I could imagine with either a noisy AD converter / cable - or a very long run - it would be a factor.

    I just mention my view - as I like getting twice the usage out of my 2nd monitor - but everyone has different wants and needs.
     
  12. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #12
    Generic 6 foot DVI and VGA cables galore.

    I had so many 20 amp power and VGA cables that I had to ship a box full off to salvage.
     

Share This Page