Adding Memory??? [MBP]

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mlebout, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. Mlebout macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #1
    I recently bought a MBP C2D and I would like to know whether or not I can add 1 Gb of memory? It came with 2 Gb (2x1Gb), but it seems that there are only 2 memory slots. Does this mean I have to buy a 2Gb chip and toss one of the 1Gb chips?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #2
    yes, unless you can magically create an extra slot, that is what my littlebrother at 7 years figured out for you:)
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    Yes. You will loose one of the 1GB parts. But wait till you see the price of the 2GB part.
     
  4. Mlebout thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    I wasn't sure if there were only 2 memory slots, smart a**.

    You would think they'd put in a 1x2Gb memory chip stock, so it wouldn't be wasteful to upgrade later. And I'd say with the price they're asking for 3 Gb of ram, most would upgrade later with an after market part.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    For future reference, you can check by going to the Apple Store and configuring that model of machine. The store will show you the stock configurations and the options, including number of slots.

    The 2 Gb modules are quite expensive, so you won't see Apple offering a 1x 2Gb config. anytime soon

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  6. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #6
    you should know that not long ago, apple use to ship 1gb systems with two 512mb stick, so one had to remove both sticks to be able to max out the ram, they actually improved a lot with ram :D
     
  7. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #7
    1x2GB stock?!

    Not. Bloody. Likely.

    Have you seen the price of a 2GB SO-DIMM? They cost a fortune, no way would Apple include one as the stock config.
     

Share This Page