Adding memory to G5 PPC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by syrose, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #1
    ADDING MEMORY
    Please I use my G5 10.4.11 Tiger PowerPC G5 (1.1)
    CPU Speed:2 GHz with iMovie 6.0.3 for video editing.
    I need step-by-step instructions for safely add up to 16 GB memory.
    Sincerely,
    Sally Syrose
     
  2. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #2
    Only the Last model PowerMac G5 can take 16 GB, it is the PowerMac model 11.2.
    If this is the case go to iFixit.com and search for the model, it will show you how.

    Installing Power Mac G5 Memory
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    How many memory banks does your PowerMac have?
    Is it a 2004 or 2005 model (not dual core), then it can have 8 GB RAM if there are 8 banks and 4 GB RAM if there are 4 banks.
    If you have a dual core or quad core, then 16 GB is possible.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Why do I not want to believe you when you say that you use that g5 for video editing in imovie 06, one of the worst video editors ever. And now you say that you need 16 gigs of memory to run this said video editor. When in reality a g4 dual 1.25ghz with 1 gig of ram and decent graphics card won't even break a sweat running that program.

    Then theres the name thing, when was the last time I saw someone whos first and last name started with the same letter they were trolls. Finally you are running tiger on your very capable g5 computer which again makes me think that somethings up

    just my 2 cents
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #5
    Yeah, its kinda fishy also... The OP says its a G5 PowerPC 1.1 and yet its running Tiger. Shouldn't it be running Leopard?? I know a dual core Late 2005 G5 is more than capable of video editing under iMovie 06 HD, but it also can make use of iMovie 08 as well..


     
  6. macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #6
    a troll that joined in 2006, that's a serious long con
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #7
    A little research before calling someone a "troll" would be nice.
    It took all of 5 seconds to see the the OP joined in 2006, (as noted above) and has made several posts since then, none of which raised the 'troll flag', so it's beyond me as why this post should be considered as anything more then someone asking for help.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #8
    2006 still known as a newbie, obviously we are dealing with someone who joined long ago then disappeared when they came back to troll
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #9
    :confused:

    Just because you don't like iMovie 06 and you believe he is overshooting the hardware requirements doesn't make him a troll. That makes him someone asking for help on an online forum. I Tri-boot my 2.7 G5 with Tiger and Leopard.

    And for the record, your username starts and ends with the same letter.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #10
    For the record you mis-read my post :rolleyes:
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #11
    I was only joking...

    I prefer iMovie 08!

     
  12. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #12
    I realize that your post said First and Last name, not username. I just thought that it was an interesting coincidence.

    What do you think about my other points?
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #13
    I think you have about as much decent points as the governor of new jersey,

    but seriously, I run lots of games way over speced like quake, but a g5 running 06 just doesn't seem right to me
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #14
    That could go either way, depending on who you are. Was that criticism or a complement? :D
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #15
    Please accept my apologies for this enormously late returning to this thread.
    Let me also thank the forum members that bothered to address my query.
    Different things prevented me from returning to this issue and I have not read the replies until now.
    These are the specs of my PPC (Copy/pasted from my About This Mac):

    Machine Name:power Mac G5
    Machine Model:powerMac11,2
    CPU Type:powerPC G5 (1.1)
    Number Of CPUs:2
    CPU Speed:2 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU):1 MB
    Memory: 7 GB
    Bus Speed:1 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: 5.2.7f1
    Serial Number:CK60304JUUY

    MEMORY:

    DIMM0/J6700:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-4200U-444
    Status: OK

    DIMM1/J6800:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-4200U-444
    Status: OK

    DIMM2/J6900:

    Size: 512 MB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-4200U-444
    Status: OK

    DIMM3/J7000:

    Size: 512 MB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-4200U-444
    Status: OK

    DIMM4/J7100:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-3200U-288
    Status: OK

    DIMM5/J7200:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-3200U-288
    Status: OK

    DIMM6/J7300:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-3200U-288
    Status: OK

    DIMM7/J7400:

    Size: 1 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: PC2-3200U-288
    Status: OK


    Model:HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4165B
    Revision:C006
    Serial Number:AA4673C8CF2B
    Detachable Drive: No
    Protocol: ATAPI
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal

    Model: HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4165B
    Revision: C006
    Serial Number: AA4673C8CF2B
    Detachable Drive: No
    Protocol: ATAPI
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal

    bcom5714:

    Type: network
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: GIGE
    Vendor ID: 0x14e4
    Device ID: 0x166a
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x106b
    Subsystem ID: 0x0085
    Revision ID: 0x0003

    bcom5714:

    Type: network
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: GIGE
    Vendor ID: 0x14e4
    Device ID: 0x166a
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x106b
    Subsystem ID: 0x0085
    Revision ID: 0x0003

    GeForce 6600LE:

    Name: NVDA,Display-B
    Type: display
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: SLOT-1
    Vendor ID: 0x10de
    Device ID: 0x0142
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x10de
    Subsystem ID: 0x0010
    ROM Revision: 2149
    Revision ID: 0x00a4
    Now I hope to be able to start working once again.
    My computer is unstable and sluggish.
    I use OnyX and iDefrag.
    I cannot afford buying a new computer.
    I'm advised that increasing memory from 7 GB to the maximum 16 (replacing the 8 memory sticks with 2 GB) would help.
    I could not obtain information as the type (model) as which memory sticks I need to purchase.
    Sincerely,
    Sally Syrose
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #16
    These is the specs for you memory...

    2GB PC2 4200 CL4, make sure that it is low density and it is matched pair.

    Below should work for you.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/4GB-2X2GB-MEMORY-256X64-PC2-4200-533MHZ-1-8V-NON-ECC-DDR2-240-PIN-DIMM-/140628256284?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item20be18e61c
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #17
    Thank you Nameci

    Thank you Nameci for your prompt attention which is sincerely appreciated.
    Have a nice weekend
    Sally
     

Share This Page