Adding RAM to 2012 27" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by chaseardoin7, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    chaseardoin7

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #1
    I've heard that there is a panel in the back of the new 27" that can be removed easily to add ram. Haven't see pics of this. Is this true? If so, pretty simple at home modification for a newbie?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #2
    Yes, there is. Should be easy if you follow the instructions that Apple and memory resellers provide.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    TrboMac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    NC/USA
    #3
    There's a button to press on the back to release the RAM plate. Couldn't be much easier, although I hear the button is a bit hard, so use something like a pen to depress it.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    #4
  5. macrumors 6502a

    daveishere

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Might get me another 16gb of memory for my new iMac...
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    ViperDesign

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    For how cheap ram are these days, without a doubt you should max it out at 32GB
     

Share This Page