Adding RAM to the 27" yourself

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DestroVega, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    CT
    #1
    Looks like it's not too hard to install the RAM, but I have a few questions.

    Should you install the RAM after turning on the iMac for the first time? Or can you add it before you do anything.

    Also, should you remove the existing 8chip and put your 4 8's in?, or just add 3 of your four to the existing RAM? Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors member

    StephenAndrew

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    I don't think it matters whether you install the ram before or after you turn it on for the first time. And it comes as 2 x 4GB, not one 8GB, so if you wanted to install 32GB you'd have to take the original ram anyway.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #3
    I was planning on plonking my 32GB in before the first boot. shouldn't be a problem I don't think.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    I bought 16GB two 8GB's I believe, can I put these in with the stock 8 for a total of 24GB RAM? The iMac isn't here yet but I'll be doing this soon. It will be my first Mac have never done any of this stuff before.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    It would be a good idea to make sure it is working before cracking it open.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #6
    Yes

    ----------

    I've done both in the past, but yes, it is always a better idea to boot it up first to make sure it works. Then, after you install the RAM, if it doesn't boot, you know there is an issue with the RAM you installed.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #7
    I installed 4 8's prior to turning it on and it works great. However like someone said it may be a good idea to ensure it's working first prior to putting your own in.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #8
    Sweet thx
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #9
    Good suggestion!

    Thanks all :)
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    CT
    #10
    Yeah, thanks for the help.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Location:
    Charlottetown, PEI Canada
    #11
    I plan on getting more ram, probably 2x8gb to bring it to a total of 24gb's. this is my first new desktop in 9 years (Dell). What is the recommended brand name to buy and adding the ram I mentioned above, is that ok or should I had more?

    I plan on using my new imac for general purposes except for transferring HD 1080p video from my Panasonic camcorder and then transfer it unto Blu-ray Disc

    Thank you from a guy waiting who is still in processing.". Ordered on Nov 30th around 6:30pm eastern time. I live in Canada.
     

Share This Page