Adding ringtones without syncing in iTunes?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by itsjustmeee, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. itsjustmeee
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #1
    I was wondering if there's a way to add ringtones using a program like iexplorer without having to sync them in itunes. I can't just sync ringtones alone without syncing music and videos (which I've always found to be a bit annoying), so I was looking for a workaround.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. maflynn
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Can't you buy it directly on the iPhone - that should install it and not need to sync it, or am I incorrect
     
  3. saving107
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #3
    You are correct, but I also recommend setting up the iPhone to be Manually Managed (because then all you have to do is drag and drop without syncing).

    Managing content manually on iPhone, iPad, and iPod
    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1535
     
  4. itsjustmeee, Dec 24, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011

    itsjustmeee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #4
    I was aware that ringtones can be purchased and downloaded right from the iphone, but the thought of buying one seems a bit crazy to me since they're so easy to make and readily available online.

    I do have my iphone set up to be manually managed, but for some reason, the ringtones I dragged over to it didn't show up on actual phone so I thought it had to be synced. Perhaps I'm wrong.

    Ah, I do see now how to do it ...... thanks.
     
  5. dtbratt
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    dtbratt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Grimsby, ON
    #5
    I want to manually manage my iPhone but when I click apply it wants me to erase my iphone.

    I have a few ringtones id like to add but cannot without itunes having to erase my content?
     
  6. Rocko1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Rocko1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #6
    If you buy them you can. But they will sound just as bad as custom tones do. There is a bug with 5.XXX on this.
     
  7. jman240
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #7
    There's a trick to this. You say ok and then unplug your phone before iTunes has a chance to remove all your apps. You have to be fast but it tricks iTunes into thinking it worked and all your stuff stays on your phone and you are now in manual mode.

    Edit: Also make sure you have WiFi sync turned off for this. That could be messy.
     
  8. takeshi74
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #8
    Sure you can. Uncheck sync for music and videos.
     
  9. vdubbeet
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    #9
    Newbie here-trying to transfer previous Android

    ringtones which are now in iTunes under music to become iPhone 4s ringtones. I'm completely lost. Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  10. cdfegab
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #10

    OMG i registered just to thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. jman240
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #11
    You're welcome.
     
  12. meriel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    #12
    :) Just registered a new account on this forum to Thank you as well!, you Sir... tha' best!
     
  13. camsoft
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, Sussex, UK.
    #13
    Wow

    That's actually works! Dude you're a star!
     
  14. Newtons Apple
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Alaska
    #14
    What content is it wanting to erase? If you mean your albums, yes it will unless they are purchased or residing on your itunes computer.
     
  15. aaroman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    #15
    Win!

    Took me 3 tries to get the timing right; first time was about 1/10th second after I hit the Erase button, second about 1/4 second, third about 1/2 second. Each time I sat there staring at my screen, half expecting apps to start disappearing off it as the phone erased itself... but nope. After the 3rd try, when I plugged it back into iTunes, the Manual button had stuck, and I was able to transfer my ringtone!
    Thanks for this tip!
     
  16. mauro_roldan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    #16
    THREE YEARS AND THAT TRICK STILL WORKS! Thank you so much for sharing that trick it was the only way to make it work. And thanks to @aaroman for his tip, I waited 1/2 second (like you did on your third try) and it worked on the first try.

    ps: I also just registered so I can personally thank you.
     

Share This Page