Adium AIM problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Peter Griffin, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. Peter Griffin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    #1
    I've been having this problem ever since using Adium and I was wondering if anyone on here has experienced similar. I frequently get a message from "aolsystem" that my AIM account is signed on in 2 different locations. It tells me to press "1" to disconnect from the other location. I do so and everythings fine and dandy.

    Recently, this has began to worry me since I don't know if someone else is accessing my account. Just today I received a spam message. I never released my account name to anyone apart from family and friends. Is this a widespread Adium problem or is something fishy going on? Thanks
     
  2. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #2
    does this happen after you haven't been signed on for a long time? or does it happen after you sign off and then sign back on within a few minutes from when you signed off?

    The reason i ask is because depending on how the connection is handled in Adium, it might not totally disconnect you, and such when you sign on again it might still be lingering there but it's really just the old "ghost" of you.

    It could be someone else, you can easily change your password though. i'm not sure if adium does it, but the official AIM client should as a last resort, if you're feeling paranoid, change the password.
     
  3. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #3
    Well i dunno i have that problem quite often when i get disconnected from AIM in adium and i signed it right away again...usually i just ignore that...i guess thats not too much a problem...

    i don't know if you're getting the error because of my situation there or wht?
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    i only get this when i am signed in multiple times, like if i am signed in through iChat as well as Adium, i get the AOLSYSTEM message, but thats the only time,

    you might want to change your password to guarantee that no one else is somehow logging into your account.

    do you use any other computers to connect to your AIM account from?
     
  5. Peter Griffin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    #5
    This is my main and only computer I use for AIM. I should've noted that I constantly put my iBook to sleep while Adium is on. I assume this shouldn't be the reason though since the iBook disconnects from the internet whenever I close the lid and automatically signs back onto AIM (Adium) whenever it wakes up.
     
  6. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #6
    that may be it. adium likely doesn't disconnect properly, as such it stays logged in until your connection times out. could be seconds, could be minutes. try disconnecting adium first and see if it makes any difference over the course of a few days.
     
  7. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #7
    yeah but i would still recomend changing the pass if you're too worried...
     
  8. russed macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    yeh, just to echo other peoples sentiments - i would change the password if you have concerns. i have only seen that message once when i was using ichat and i was also logged in with adium.
     
  9. evands macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #9
    Adium does ask the server to disconnect you when the system goes to sleep; in fact, it delays sleep until the disconnection is confirmed up to a timeout period. If that timeout is exceeded however [high network latency for example] it is possible that this would happen.
     
  10. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #10
    nice to know. i had a feeling adium was the reason for my powerbook struggling to sleep sometimes.
     
  11. russed macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    i thought that problem had been rectified? it happened under 0.8 i think but since has been solved. it used to take about 10 seconds from putrting the lid down to sleeping but now its back to instantanious.
     
  12. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #12
    yea it seems to have gotten better since i upgraded to the latest version. it hasn't happened since then. but it was really annoying before.
     
  13. evands macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #13
    Yeah, you're right. Several versions ago it was delaying (1) unnecesarilly and (2) with way too long of a timeout. It should be both disconnecting you cleanly and sleeping nearly instantaneously -- disconnecting, after all - is a fast process.
     

Share This Page