Adium and registering for a jabber account?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Sneeper, Aug 17, 2004.

  1. Sneeper macrumors regular

    Sneeper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    I love Adium. But I can't for the life of me figure out how to sign up for a Jabber account using Adium. I don't see a "register for new account" checkbox.. just username and password.. and when I fill in what I want, it just prompts me again since the account doesn't exist yet.

    Seems silly to have to download another client just to register! Am I missing an obvious function or preference somewhere?

    P.S. I'm on version 0.63.
     
  2. Sneeper thread starter macrumors regular

    Sneeper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
  3. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #4
    thats bizarre...adium is based on libgaim, it should work if gaim does..
     
  4. saabmp3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #5
    I doubt you can do this on adium yet, but the best place to look is on the Adiumx forums for advice. Remember, adium is a beta client, even if it is a very good one.


    Although adium is based on libgaim, libgaim and gaim are totally different programs. The calls for alot of stuff are in libgaim, but adium just doesn't make use of them.

    BEN
     
  5. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #6
    that is true..

    you can also ask the folks in #adium, including most of the adium devs, on freenode.
     
  6. Sneeper thread starter macrumors regular

    Sneeper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7

    Thanks for the IRC channel bit. I asked and someone there told me it was a missing feature. Sadness.

    Thanks anyway.
     

Share This Page