Adium Dock Icon?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Clusty, Feb 24, 2007.

  1. Clusty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #1
    Anybody know of a tutorial on how to make an Adium Dock Icon with Active, Idle, Offline, Away, etc.?
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    I don't know of a tutorial, but if you dissect any current Dock icons you have you can see how they are constructed.

    To dissect the an icon go to: Library>Application Support>Adium>Dock Icons.

    Select an icon and right click and show package contents. This will show all the icons for the different availability statuses. You'll also notice a .plist file, open this and it will show you the programming of when to show what .PNG icon file.

    Do you see what I mean? Any more questions then let me know.
     
  3. Clusty thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #3
    That's interesting, thanks for showing me that!

    I'd still need to know how to get them all together like that.
     
  4. kathleenaisha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    England.
    #5
    How do you actually make it a 'package' though?
    I've done all the graphics&the icon.plist file, but I don't know how to use it.
    :)
     
  5. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #6
    I think there's a tutorial on the Adium website

    EDIT: evands has got it, but clicking either of the "how to" links gets a "500 - Internal Server Error" page displayed for me :confused:
     
  6. Melrose macrumors 604

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    In your HVAC ducts, stealing your secrets.
    #7
    Go to Apps > Adium > Show Package Contents > Contents > Resources > Dock Icons > and then select an icon set > Show Package Contents

    There you'll find all the PNGs that make the dock icon for that set. Simply make your own PNG replacements and copy them into place.

    Then you have to tweak the IconPack.plist file, but that's relatively easy.

    At least, that's the way I did mine and they work okay.
     

Share This Page