Adium issues

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by griflet, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. griflet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #1
    Hello,

    Recently my adium's started to really lag out my whole computer when on opening. It takes about 5 minutes or longer to load, and meanwhile I can't really do much. :( Any idea how to fix it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    do you have the latest version (0.89.1) installed?
    what computer do you have, and what system does it run?
    Have you installed any extras recently which may be the cause of the slowdowns?
     
  3. griflet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #3
    yeah, i've installed the latest version... running on a mac powerbook g4 - incidentally, the hard drive is really noisy, and no extras for me
     
  4. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #4
    did the slowdowns begin when the hard drive started making weird noises?
    Are other apps affected as well?
    How old is the computer?
    If it is a HDD problem, you should be backing everythink up as soon as you can, and be prepared to buy a new HDD. lets just hope it isnt :eek:
     
  5. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #5
    Yep, it's deffo the hard drive!!

    Adium takes literally quarter a second to load for me, very compact app.
     
  6. slientkiller macrumors newbie

    slientkiller

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Madison
    #6
    Is the very lastest version for Adium is 1.0~ something. That adds an invisible feature.

    Or, it is not the official adium.
     
  7. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    That's a beta. The last stable release is 0.89.1.

    To the OP: Yes, absolutely backup your files IMMEDIATELY. It's not Adium that's causing those problems. Be ready for your hard drive to fail soon. Try verifying it with Disk Utility and any other disk software you might have. Check it's S.M.A.R.T. status too.
     
  8. MacIllini macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    West Coast
    #8
    having Adium issues too... can't log on with AIM. iChat isn't holding with AIM either :confused:
     
  9. griflet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #9
    crap... :/ must say i expected something like that. when i went to replace my battery, the cso told me to back up everything because of the noisy harddrive. lucky it's still under warranty then...

    thanks!
     

Share This Page