Adium X's Logs

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Xephian, Dec 4, 2005.

  1. Xephian macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Does anyone know how to change the location of Adium's logs location to somewhere other than where it is by default?
     
  2. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #2
    If you can't change it in Adium, you could always just try a Finder alias on the Logs folder. That's how I move my Microsoft User Data folder out of my Documents folder. You can even hide the alias with a SetFile command in the Terminal.
     
  3. stridey macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #3
    Not that I know of. However, the easiest way of dealing with logs is to view them exclusively through adium's Log viewer. Just type Cmd-Shift-L with adium in front, or when talking to somebody type Cmd-L to view previous conversations with them. :)
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    Just so I understand what you did, you moved the Microsoft User Data folder to another location, and replaced it in the Documents folder by an Alias to the new location, and then you hid the alias using terminal. Is that what you did?

    Thanks.
     
  5. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #5
    Yup, that's exactly what I did. (I moved it to my library folder where it should be.)
     
  6. Xephian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    I tried the alias for Adium's logs, but it didn't work.
     
  7. Xephian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Xephian

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    Okay, I just did it with a symbolic link in the terminal instead.
     

Share This Page