admin accounts

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bokdol, May 16, 2005.

  1. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    ahh ok now lets see if someone can help me. i forgot how to do this.

    so i have my main acount a.
    and then i created a second acount b.
    i switched to acount b to delete acount a
    i wanted to recreate acount a but it says username is in use and i cant make it again.
    so how can i recreate acount a. the first acount.

    thanks
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. bokdol thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #3

    using acount b (this is also admin)

    useing the system pref. i deleated the acount. stardard way. but i read somewhere the very first acount you create on the computer could not be recreated unless by some strange way... i just forgot how. :(
     
  4. bokdol thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    never mind found it.. thanks if anyone was looking
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Care to share it, in case someone searches for the same problem here in the future?
     
  6. bokdol thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    you need the setup assistant in the utilities folder. if you dont have one the just copy it from someone else. that will recreate the account that was deleated. i was freaked out at first. but all the other accounts were still there and the main account was fresh and clean. :)
     

Share This Page