Adobe BrowserLab

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by angelwatt, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Came across a MacWorld article that talked about a new product from Adobe called BrowserLab. It lets you render a web page in the various browsers and see how they look. So you can see a page in Safari and have it right next to how it looks in IE. This also works on Mac as well as Windows. I haven't tried it yet as the page requires Flash 10 and I wasn't up for doing that. Let us know if you check this out and give some feedback.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #2
    Interesting find! I am actually surprised that I didn't know about this. They are currently not accepting new beta testers but I will check with the people I work with at Adobe to find out when this will move to public beta.

    Sadly, it looks to be entirely static, which is only so useful, but it would be a helpful service...
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #3
    It's only hitting the 'buz' today. Very good browser testing platform - Have been using it today!
     
  4. thread starter Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    What do you think of it so far? Is it really just like BrowserShots (in that it's static)?
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #5
    Yup, still static, but it only takes a couple of seconds to load the image and you can compare 2 browsers at a time side by side or as onion skinned image.

    It only shows IE 6 & 7, Firefox 2 & 3 mac and windows, and safari 3 mac. However it is currently free as they are testing (subscription due to take effect upon proper release).

    I can see this developing into a really good platform if they give it the resources it needs.

    You only need an Adobe ID (which you can get from signing up - can post link if needed) to try it.
     

Share This Page