adobe CS 2 student: upgrade price?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by QCassidy352, Dec 9, 2006.

1. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

QCassidy352

I'm soon going to purchase the student version of adobe CS 2 (yes, I'm really a qualifying student). But I'm wondering - what happens when CS 3 comes out? Can I get some kind of discounted upgrade price, or is it the full amount all over again?

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Usually with educational versions, you have to buy the whole thing over again at an educational price. There was no upgrade path from edu CS1 to edu CS2, short of buying the whole thing over again, albeit at a discount.

3. SwiftLives macrumors 65816

SwiftLives

As I recall - the price to buy a new educational package of CS2 is cheaper then the regular (non-educational) upgrade price. This will probably be the case with CS3.

However, if you shell out the extra few buks for the regular upgrade, it upgrades you from an educational license to a regular license.

4. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

QCassidy352

thank you for the responses, conflicting tho they be. :) Anyone know for sure? Or is this a case where we'll just have to wait and see what adobe does?

5. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

TheAnswer

Since this is happening in the future, we will all have to wait to be certain. However the previous posts aren't really in conflict.

Like BlueVelvet said, there hasn't been an educational upgrade available in the past. So you'll have to by the education version over again.

What Hobgobble is saying is that one has been able to take their existing educational serial numbers, purchase the regular upgrade, and get upgraded from having the educational license to the regular one.

(Guys be sure to correct me if I'm misstating your posts)

6. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

QCassidy352

ah, ok, that makes sense then. what is the price on the regular upgrade?

7. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

TheAnswer