Adobe CS3 running on Boot Camp on a Mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by NXTMIKE, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I'm highly considering of buying a MacBook and already have Adobe Master Collection CS3 for Windows, so I don't want to buy a new one only because its going to be on a mac, but would the Windows version of CS3 install and work fine on Boot Camp?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #2
    One thing to consider is that Adobe does have a crossgrade option in which you can obtain Mac versions of programs that you currently own the PC version of, with only minimal charges for the media.

    Can't comment on relative performance though- sorry.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    off world.
    #3
    Photoshop would be slower on a MacBook than on a MacBook Pro.

    I have Fusion on my MacBook Pro and used CS2/Win on it a while ago. Nasty nasty. (okay not nasty but much slower) I don't recommend using any big program in a Virtual Machine.

    I'd go for the 'switch-to-Mac' option, and get a MacBook Pro at that. Your creativity will thank you later.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #4
    Well, he was talking about BootCamp - meaning running CS3 natively - and not about virtualization.

    Why Apple had to assign a stupid marketing name to a multi-boot feature and a driver collection for Windows is beyond me, but at least they managed to confuse everybody with it.

    So when you use "BootCamp", that just means that you use your PC to run Windows instead of OS X. Yeah, that's right: Your PC. Because technically, there is no difference at all between a Mac and a PC - it uses nVidia, AMD/ATI and Intel chipsets like any other Dell or Toshiba or Acer or Asus or Lenovo machine out there. It only has an Apple design, that's it.

    So CS3 in "BootCamp" will run as good as it does on any other Windows machine with the same technical specifications as your Mac. However, there's a chance that CS3 in BootCamp will perform better on the same machine as its Mac version.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #5
    I would just take advantage of their cross-grade option. I did it with my CS2 suite and it cost me $5 or $10 total.

    -mx
     
  6. macrumors 604

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    off world.
    #6
    Sorry to sidestep your elaborate explanation but I've had XP installed on my iMac for quite a while now - in Boot Camp no less. I misread his question is all.

    OP: In Boot Camp you should have no difficulty at all, no. In a virtual machine it will slow down but if you're running it in as the sole operating system it will be just fine. I installed my old Windows version of CS2 installed on it for my dad and it's been fine.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #7
    I don't suppose they will give this to you if you purchased the CS3 suite through an Academic license with a college?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #8
    Yes they will.

    -mx
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    hunched over my mac, pathetic loser
    #9
    I would run it in bootcamp on windows you should be fine
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #10
    Awesome. What all do I need to get the cross-grade?

    I may no longer have access to the original CS3 receipts, unless email versions from Adobe are acceptable.

    Will this also work for Lightroom?
     

Share This Page