Adobe CS5 and El Capitan?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by ericmschwanke, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. ericmschwanke macrumors newbie

    ericmschwanke

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Location:
    Green Bay, Wisconsin
  2. mkeeley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #2
    Not seen any fixes, will have to wait and see if Apple release an ElCap version. Same problem for CS6.
     
  3. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #3
  4. mkeeley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #4
    Saw that earlier, but thank you. Tried it, installed Java SE 8 but get "operation not permitted" when trying to create the folders. Tried enabling root access and creating them that way but the same.
     
  5. mkeeley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #5
    Got it working

    1. Download the Java SE 8 DMG from http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre8-downloads-2133155.html and install.
    2. In term enter the following to turn off rootless and then reboot: sudo nvram boot-args="rootless=0"
    3. In term enter these 2 lines: sudo mkdir -p /System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk
    4. sudo mkdir -p /System/Library/Java/Support/Deploy.bundle
    5. Turn rootless back on and reboot again: sudo nvram boot-args="rootless=1"
     
  6. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Glad you got it working. FYI it works OOTB with CS6.
     
  7. mkeeley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #7
    AI CS6 didn't work here but that sorted it. Perhaps you previously had SE 8 installed? I just had 6.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Yeah, you're probably right about that, sorry.
     
  9. ericmschwanke thread starter macrumors newbie

    ericmschwanke

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Location:
    Green Bay, Wisconsin
    #9
    Have installed the new Java and not getting any luck.
     
  10. mkeeley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #11
    Installed and also created the 2 empty folders?
     
  11. zepperd macrumors newbie

    zepperd

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Location:
    netherlands
    #12
    Hi, worked fine for me.
    But first I deleted all previous versions.
     
  12. wegeberg macrumors newbie

    wegeberg

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Roskilde, Denmark
    #13
    Worked flawlessly. Enabling Illustrator and Dreamweaver CS6
     
  13. mkeeley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
  14. piller97 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    #15
    Thank you so much this worked perfectly for me. I didn't know what I would do without dreamweaver!
     
  15. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #16
  16. Lowe Lilliehorn macrumors regular

    Lowe Lilliehorn

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
  17. Partron22, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #19
    There's no download button which I can find on that page.
    ...
    AH, the download button appears when I switch browser from Firefox to Safari.

    ... Still later
    Yup, that worked. Using Safari: Downloaded, installed, and now Photoshop CS5 is no longer throwing a hissy-fit about the version of Java I'm using.
    So if you don't see a nice big blue download button on the support page, boot up Safari and use that to download.
     
  18. jcoffin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Location:
    ca
    #20
    ai quits when using the dropper tool on cs5 other then that simple and no problem.
     
  19. zaphod748 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    #21
    You can run CS5 with the latest Java version (that has security patchtes etc), checkout wheatherangels answer in the adobe forum. Java 5/6 are EOL.
     
  20. hintofsilence macrumors newbie

    hintofsilence

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #22
    So I followed the instructions in reply #5, but it wouldn't let me perform the first of the two commands, since this is not a virtual machine. However, I ran the second of the two, turned the rootless back on, rebooted, and then it allowed the install to go forward. I'm waiting for it to finish, so not sure how well CS5 will perform once install is complete, but I am optimistic. I'll post the results here after I test it.

    Update: Illustrator seems to work, except that I am having the same issue with the whole thing crashing when trying to use the eyedropper tool, as mentioned in another comment. Rather annoying, but I can probably work around it if I have to. Anyone else found a fix for that?
     
  21. joogle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    #23
    I bough a Macbook Pro 2015 that had Yosemite but I upgraded to El Capitan.

    I was planning on installing Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 that I have but it seems it does not work with El Capitan.

    Did anyone of you get it to work?

    Otherwise I will have to do a restore and install to Yosemite. I hope it all works with Yosemite
     
  22. joogle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    #24
    any feedback? Thanks
     
  23. Morpheo macrumors 6502a

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Montreal/Paris
    #25
    I have CS5.5 on my Mid-2012 cMP and it works just fine with El Capitan (provided you install the Java runtime mentioned above in this thread).
     

Share This Page