Adobe file flaw fixed by 10.5.4?

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    #2
    Wot?

    I am surprised this was not fixed during the beat testing cycle. Is anybody at Adobe is actually participating in beta testing???

     
  3. macrumors 68020

    winmacguy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Guess not.
     
  4. macrumors G3

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    Makes you wonder when 10.5.4 will be released. This is a pretty big issue.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    not really

    Really, its not a huge issue as I understand it. You have to have a file server and be working from the files on the server.
    Working directly from a server is something that Adobe advises against in all their literature on the subject. You should copy work files to a local volume edit then commit the changes to the server.

    There are, of course, work-arounds. If the bug is in fact related to AppleShare calls as Adobe claims, then using NFS or SMB instead would eliminate the issue and only takes a few clicks on the OS X server software and a re-linking on the desktop(s).
     
  6. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #6
    I work off a server a lot: it's a great solution, for instance, when all my projects are on my desktop Mac, yet I want to easily and effortlessly ALSO be able to work from my Air, anywhere in my home at any time. And never have multiple versions of a project out of sync (nor have to copy ALL of the project's massive associated files). This has always worked great, and luckily I did NOT learn about this bug the hard way! I have not jumped to 10.5.3 yet. But I will appreciate a fix when it comes.
     

Share This Page