Adobe Photoshop CS...no background...help???

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by amyactually, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. amyactually macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #1
    I just downloaded Adobe Photoshop CS on my Mac powerbook...Mac OS X 10.4. The problem I'm having is there doesn't seem to be a background. When you open it everything comes up accept the background. It ends up being whatever is up on my desktop at the time.

    here is a screenshot

    As you can see it is a web page displayed behind the adobe toolbars, shouldnt it be like windows, with a background of its own?

    Thanks,
    Amy
     
  2. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
  3. amyactually thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #3
    Thanks, I'm new to mac. I've had mine for a month.
     
  4. stutz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    #4
    Yep,

    You'll need to get used to that. It's a good thing though. Your desktop will ALWAYS be visible unles another program running happens to take up the entire screen. If it helps you to keep things straight, hide the applications you aren't using by hitting Apple-H (the shortcut for the hide function). To change quickly through programs already open, hit Apple-Tab. For Photoshop, create a new file to get a canvas to work on.

    Stutz
     
  5. fayans macrumors 6502a

    fayans

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    MacRumors: Forums
    #5
    When you work on nothing, PS will always hide itself and not clutter your desktop.
     
  6. mulletman13 macrumors 6502a

    mulletman13

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles.
    #6
    File --> new

    ... you said you downloaded CS.... hrmm... sounds kindof seedy, next time you may want to keep that info to yourself.
     
  7. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I believe you can set the Mac version to hide the desktop like the Windows version does. I think it's one of those little buttons at the bottom of the tool bar, but I'm not sure. I've only ever done it by accident...
     
  8. Flenz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #8
  9. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #9
    When within Photoshop and with a file open, press the 'F' key to cycle through different file/window views.
     
  10. amyactually thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #10
    Thanks for all the help! Its much appreciated! And Flenz thanks, not neccessarily seedy! lol!

    Thanks again,
    Amy
     

Share This Page