ADSL who's who

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by The Expatriate, Apr 3, 2004.

  1. The Expatriate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    #1
    My local exchange was recently upgraded from the dark ages and now supports ADSL and I want to get in on all the action. My question for you though is who do I sign up with and what equipment do I buy?

    I don't seem to recognise any of the names (except BT, AOL etc, but I've been told they're no good) and have nothing to go on.

    Freedom 2 Surf are my prefered choice of ISP and I'm pretty much settled on that (unless you know otherwise), but what router works really well with macs from OS9 - 10.3 and has a built in Firewall that allows each individual machine to maintain it's own Firewall at the same time?

    Cheers for your input
     
  2. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #2
    I use SBC Global DSL. When i signed up with them, the basic package is something like $29.95. This price includes the modem, dsl filters, and everything that you would need. However, they only let you connect one computer to it. So, i upgraded for an extra $50 bucks and got the 2Wire wireless modem. I currently have two macs running on it, an iBook, and my G4. I haven't used any other DSL services, but i also haven't had any problems with SBC.


    SBC Yahoo! DSL
     
  3. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Seeing as you mentioned BT, I presume you are in the UK. This site has a lot of good comparison of UK DSL ISP's. http://adslguide.org/
     
  4. Dr. Zauis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    I use SBC Yahoo DSL and one time it went down and I called tech support. After I got it back up and running(only checked on 1 computer) I found out that only 1 computer could get on at a time.(had the service for 2 yrs and all my computers could get on at the same time) I called back and they said that I need to pay more for more computers to connect. I was like WTF. So I hung up and called the router company(netgear) and they gave me the firmware to allow multiple computers to connect at once for free.

    SBC DSL has decent speed (1070 Kbps @ CNET.com bandwidth meter)
    but the tech support sucks and for me and the service goes down about once every 3-4 months.
     
  5. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #5
    We signed up for SBCGlobal shortly before the $50 upgrade to the router switched from ethernet+USB to ethernet+Wi-Fi. Recently though, they have made changes to the tech help system, after having gotten many many complaints about the service.
     
  6. Blackstealth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Location:
    Bradford, UK
    #6
    I've been using BT Broadband (the no frills one) since my exchange went live in October last year. I can't complain about the service level, it's never been down and it seems fast enough (576 down, 288 up). And it's now pretty cheap at £19 per month.

    Bandwidth limits are a pretty grey area, I've seen some recent promotional stuff (in yesterdays paper) that says you're limited to 1Gb of data transfer per month, however when I signed up I was told that there's no limits as such, they just apply traffic shaping to limit your speeds if you're transferring huge amounts of files.

    As for routers I'm running a D-Link DSL-504 with no problems whatsoever. Machines are running OS 9.1 through to 10.3 and Win 98 - 2k.
     

Share This Page