Adult Students

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by SpookTheHamster, Jan 8, 2007.

1. SpookTheHamster macrumors 65816

Nov 7, 2004
    How many members of our beloved forum are adult students?

I'm studying in my first year at uni, and in the same hall as me is another first year student who is 74 years old. He's an amazing guy, if you talk to him he'll claim he's "a 20 year old trapped in a 74 year old body". He goes out more than anybody I know, you'll find him in the club 5 or 6 nights a week, dancing with an alcopop in hand and surrounded by girls.

I'm in two minds as to why he went to uni;

1) He'd always regretted not getting university education, and wanted to go before it was too late.

2) He'd always regretted not getting university girls, and wanted some action before it was too late.

Anybody else know a "mature" student of his calibre?
  2. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

Jan 25, 2002
    Orange County, CA
    I'm going part time now at a community college and going back for my undergraduate degree in the fall. Now, I'm less than half the age of the guy in your class, but I am barely younger than some of my professors. For me, it was realizing that I didn't want to be doing what I was doing for the rest of my life and the regrets of dropping out of uni a while back.

That said, of course I'm hoping that I'm still young looking enough to snag a younger intelligent student (although I will probably have more luck with the grad students).
  3. j26 macrumors 65832

Mar 30, 2005
    I'm in year 2 of a legal diploma which will lead to a barrister-at-law degree (provided I pass the exams in June and the entrance exam in August).

There's a few of retired guys in the class (50's - late 60's)

I'm in a Company law lecture at the moment...

4. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

Aug 15, 2006
    The Rainbow Nation RSA