Advice: commuting to college

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Demon Hunter, Nov 30, 2006.

1. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

I'm a college student and I can't decide what to invest in... a mac pro or MacBook Pro? I know "laptop" is the first word that pops into your head, but here's the thing--I live at home.

My commute to downtown Minneapolis takes about two hours each day. That's 10 hours/week! It really sucks. But more importantly I have to decide where to study. Do I take the bus home or go to the library until 9 or 10pm?

You should also know that my university has some very nice computer labs--my favorite is full of G5s and Cinema Displays--and I love to study on campus.

I have a budget of about $4k. This system needs to last 5 years or more. My thoughts:

17" MBP
    • presentations
    • lecture notes with audio
    • burden to carry, fragile/theft
    • dual screens at home

2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    160GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    MacBook Pro 17-inch Widescreen Display
    Apple Cinema HD Display (23" flat panel)
    Backlit Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
    Accessory Kit
    AppleCare Protection Plan for MacBook Pro/PowerBook (w/or w/o Display) - Auto-enroll

$3737.00

Mac Pro
    • better for gaming (read: WoW)
    • SUPER future-proof
    • higher resale

Two 2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    2GB (4 x 512MB)
    160GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB (single-link DVI/dual-link DVI)
    Apple Cinema HD Display (23" flat panel)
    Two 16x SuperDrives
    Both Bluetooth 2.0+EDR and AirPort Extreme
    Apple Wireless Keyboard and Apple wireless Mighty Mouse - U.S. English
    Mac OS X - U.S. English
    AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Pro/Power Mac (w/or w/o Display) - Auto-enroll

$3808.00