Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tempques

macrumors member
Original poster
May 25, 2006
Hello,

I've reviewed several options regarding my next computer purchase - one of those being Apple and OS X. After careful review of each application that ships with Tiger, it seems to hold a significant value in its ease of use and clean desktop environment. OS X is clearly an elegant operating system and I came to the conclusion that I'd make the switch. So I studied the available hardware from Apple's site and was very impressed with the Macbook Pro.

But it was when reading user-reviews, though, I hit my snag.

I understand the concept of the squeaking wheel getting the most attention: more users will flock to forums to seek solutions to defects rather than simply say how great their computer is. However the impression I am getting is that currently buying a laptop from Apple is too much like playing the lottery. I will spare you the repetition of what has already been covered in many threads before, nonetheless a new computer is an expensive purchase and one I will not settle to chance. If I make a 2000-3000 dollar purchase I don't want to have to anticipate being one of the lucky ones to get a defect-free machine. Of course the switch to Intel means that Apple is in the first revolution of the MB and MBP, so I assume waiting out more revisions is the solution to getting a properly operating computer.

Here is my question: How do I know when it’s significantly safe to buy a computer from Apple? The problems are keeping me from being an official “switcher” and, if they go on long enough, I might have to stay on "the dark side." But I don’t want to do that, I really like the operating system, but the best software in the world wouldn’t matter if running on defective hardware. Advice?

Thanks.

Sean7512

macrumors 6502a
Jun 8, 2005