Advice on Buying Imac G5 or Powerbook G4

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Kaufy, Mar 24, 2005.

1. Kaufy macrumors newbie

Mar 24, 2005
    Hi All. I have a G3 12'' ibook and a 5 year old PC desktop. Both computers are still working, but neither are fast enough at this point. I do a lot of photography and web browsing. I use phtoshop elements, but I am thinkning of eventually getting the full version of photoshop, especially since I am a student and am elligible for educational pricing. Anyway, I'm ready to upgrade, but I'm not sure which to tackle first. When I went to the apple store to get some advice I was immediately told to get the iMac G5 with the 20'' monitor, but since viewing some postings on this website, I was thinking that perhaps getting a new powerbook (maybe the 17'') would be a better use of my funds. I can still use my ibook if I need portability and I can still use my PC for when I'm at home so it's just a matter of which product to get first. I also have not entirely switched so perhaps I'm a little hesistant about giving up my PC, but I would do it if the g5 is the way to go. I'd appreciate any input. Thanks so much!
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

Aug 9, 2002
    Unless portability in your main computer is important to you, an iMac will always be a better buy than a PowerBook.
  3. Platform macrumors 68030

Dec 30, 2004

G5 vs G4
    600 vs 167 Bus speed
    SATA 7200rpm vs ATA/IDE 5400 rpm
    20" vs 17" ;)
  4. mcadam macrumors 6502a

Apr 3, 2004