Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

corywoolf

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 28, 2004
I have a vcr-mini dv combo hooked up with firewire already to my 800mhz imac 15". I am considering spending about $6000 on a small studio which I will finance. I was using the colleges s editing suites for a while, but I am in new classes and i was told I can't use the suites anymore. I have been using fcp3 for about 2 years now. I want to use my student discount on the setup. come up with a list of stuff you think I should get, including a camera and accessories. I was thinking either a powermac g5 dual 1.8 ghz, and a 20" apple display (i am shallow and couldn't put a dell monitor with a g5) ;) I also wanted to consider a small powerbook (refurbished?) and a spacious external hard drive or internal. try to see how far you can stretch $6000. I need to finance through apple. so keep it strictly off of apple's site. i know, its hard to get any good deals off apples site. well see what you can do. thanks :cool:

kaltsasa

macrumors 6502a
Jan 9, 2002
Kellogg IA
Why not finance through your local bank. You'll get a much better intrest rate, and by not being tied to the products on apples web site you will be able to stretch your dollars much further. Firewire Drives from Other World Computing , Camera from B and H Photo, green screen software from FX Home. Nab the computer and editing software from Apple, but your going to be hurting trying to get it all from Apple.

corywoolf

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 28, 2004
kaltsasa said: