Advice on Time Machine Drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by whirl, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. whirl
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #1
    My new iMac 27 is about to be delivered in the next 3 days.

    If I tell the new iMac to use the same USB drive that contains my Time Machine Backups from my old iMac will it just be amended to the data that is already on the drive or will it want to format the drive and start a fresh.

    Obviously I don't want to lose my data that I have from my previous iMac so I am a little unsure what will happen.
     
  2. Paulywauly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Paulywauly

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #2
    If you use Migration Assistant to move your stuff from one Mac to another it should be okay
     
  3. Weaselboy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    You will get a popup saying there is already a backup on the drive and it will ask if you want to merge the two or start a new backup. Just pick the one you want.
     
  4. 2012Tony2012
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    2012Tony2012

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #4
    Forget Time Machine, use Carbon Copy Cloner instead.;)
     
  5. AppleFan360
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #5
    I disagree. Use Time Machine. It's easy and will work without issue.
     
  6. madsci954
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Why not use both?
     

Share This Page