Advice re: iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by appletime, Jul 7, 2006.

  1. appletime macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hiya,

    I need a bit of help. I am planning to go on vacation next month to Hong Kong and I'm thinking on buying an iMac while I'm there. But I was wondering if it's possible (not to mention safe) to take it back home with me? Has anyone tried this out before?

    I'm not sure how this exactly works. If anyone can offer advice it would be greatly appreciated.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Wellander macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Huntington Beach Ca
    #2
    Hi,
    What country do you live in?
    We will need to know that.
    Thanks.
     
  3. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Hey Wellander,

    I live in Dubai (don't know if you've heard of it)... it's basically in the Middle East.

    Cheers
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    What is your reasoning for buying an iMac in Hong Kong?

    Is there any other way you could obtain a Mac (online stores, phone, etc.)? If so, I would go with that.
     
  5. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    A couple of reasons to be honest. For one, it's pretty difficult to find a Mac in the city and second, if you do manage to find one they cost about as double their average worth. I'll be saving about 40% if I buy overseas. And since I'm travelling to Hong Kong I thought it might be a good try if I get the iMac from there itself.

    I'm afraid there are no online stores selling Macs in this country, let alone through phone.
     
  6. Wellander macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Huntington Beach Ca
    #6
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply.
    Is the power the same?
    Are the outlets that you plug items into the same?
    And yuo might want to see what you are allowed to bring in to your country (as far sa laws).
    Other then that I do not see a problem with it.
    B.T.W. Is it cheaper for you to buy it there?
     
  7. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7

    To save 40% it sounds like a good idea to buy an iMac in Hong Kong- as long as you will not have any problems getting it back home to Dubai. :)
     
  8. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #8

    Heya,

    I thought the iMacs were given a Universal power cord?

    From www.apple.com/imac (under tech specs):

    Electrical and environmental requirements

    * Meets ENERGY STAR requirements
    * Line voltage: 100-240V AC
    * Power cable Frequency: 50Hz to 60Hz, single phase
    * Maximum continuous power: 180W
    * Operating temperature: 50° to 95° F (10° to 35° C)
    * Storage temperature: -40° to 185° F (-40° to 85° C)
    * Relative humidity: 5% to 95% noncondensing
    * Maximum altitude: 10,000 feet

    Dubai runs on 220 volts so I reckon that the machine will work fine?
     
  9. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #9

    Hey there,

    Yes, I do believe its a good idea, however I'm just not sure how to put it into action. Will I declare the iMac as a carry on when I arrive at the airport?
     
  10. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #10
    That sounds like that should work. I certainly would not want it stowed underneath the plane as it could easily become damaged (I know what they can do to suitcases, not to mention computers :eek: ). :)
     
  11. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #11
    Sounds like the power will be OK but you will probably have to buy an adapter for the plug if it is different from Hong Kong.
     
  12. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #12

    Haha, yeah. Do airlines usually allow personal computers as a carry on? I know the 20 inch iMac weighs around 10kg and the 17 inch around 7kg.

    And hey, you're from Lebanon. Not too far from Dubai. Ahlan! :)
     
  13. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #13
    I am pretty sure that you can bring it aboard as a carry on item (call the airline and check to see if this will be okay first). On my recent trip to Miami, Florida I brought two laptops with me (iBook G4 & MacBook Pro) so I am pretty sure you could bring one iMac onboard with you.

    Yes, I am from Lebanon- Lebanon County, PA, USA. :D
     
  14. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #14
    if it meets the size requirements for the airline you're traveling then you can carry it on

    one thing to consider though, what's the warranty coverage on an imac as far as where it's covered? I know portables have a worldwide warranty but I thought Apple's desktops were only covered in the country of purchase which would mean that you might have to send it back to HK for warranty service........better check that out
     
  15. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #15

    Oops, sorry there buddy! :p Pretty cool to know that there's a place called Lebanon in PA.
     
  16. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #16

    I'm not sure, exactly. Isn't Applecare's warranty worldwide?
     
  17. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #17
    Don't they have a kind of generic Apple Store in Dubai (the Macstore I think it's called)?
     
  18. appletime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #18
    Yeah, there's a Mac store in one of the malls here. But the prices are so much higher than what the original prices are it's somewhat frustrating to purchase from the shop.
     
  19. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #19
    Yes, I believe AppleCare is worldwide. If you're going to take your iMac as carry-on, you're going to want to take it out of the box and put it in some kind of smaller case. The box is much too big for carry-on, but the iMac itself isn't too bad. There's a case called an iLugger that's specifically made for carrying iMacs, but I'm not sure if you'd be able to buy one of those.
     
  20. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #20
    Yeah, same here in South Africa.
     
  21. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #21
    I believe this comment has cropped up before but the 17" iMac somehow manages to meet carry on size. Still, your milage may vary.

    AppleCare on laptops was the only one with worldwide coverage. They might have changed this to include desktops recently though.
     
  22. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #22
    Just curious but won't you have to pay a duty tax on it? Or maybe not. :S
     
  23. codo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #23
    I would imagine so? - But surly it won’t be as high as 40% so it’s probably still a saving.
     
  24. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #24
    Hang on there a second, I was afraid someone would say just that.

    Applecare is worldwide for laptops only, for desktops they are country specific. There was a previous poster on MR forums who brought his iMac from US to the UK and got hit by exactly this when he tried to send it in for servicing.

    I am not too sure if the normal warranty coverage is country specific as well, but Applecare is definitely out (ie: you can't buy Applecare from Apple US and have it work in the UK for desktops)
     
  25. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #25
    Thanks for the correction. Personally I find this sort of stupid on Apple's part. Just sounds like a way to save money at the expense of their customers.
     

Share This Page