advice regarding future iTunes update

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by mdouglas, Nov 21, 2002.

1. mdouglas macrumors member

Dear Group,

I'm new to the Apple system having recently acquired an iMac and an iPod. I've yet to either download any music to my computer/iPod or store any of my CD's as MP3's on my hard-drive. As my system is "virgin" at this point, I wanted to get some advice from y'all regarding the best approach to setting up iTunes.

Three questions:

-should I wait for the rumored iTunes update (with better sound and compression) or just go ahead and start converting to MP3's?

-do you think my new iPod will either support this new compression format or be upgradable?

-what file sharing program do most of y'all use to get music off of the net? I've used Morpheus, Limewire, and Napster in the past on my Windows machines. I would like to use one for the Mac that is without a bunch of extraneous crap (i.e. advertisements or other ancillary things that download to my computer).

TIA for taking the time to answer my questions,
    Mark

2. alex_ant macrumors 68020

alex_ant

I can answer the first one:

The built-in iTunes MP3 encoder encodes very fast, but generates poor quality files. If you're concerned with both quality and file size, I would say wait for AAC support. If you're concerned with quality but not really file size, then I would recommend either using the built-in iTunes encoder to encode at a very high bit rate, or using the iTunes-LAME plugin (found at VerstionTracker) to use a different, superior MP3 encoder, which will be able to achieve similar results at a lower bit rate. If you're concerned about encoding speed, though, you'll have to either use the built-in MP3 encoder or wait for the AAC encoder and hope it's fast, because LAME is quite slow on the Mac.