Advice, top end iMac or six-core Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MythicFrost, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hey,

    I'm needing advice... I currently have the previous gen 27" i7 iMac, and I don't know which is better value to go for.

    The 27" iMac comes to $3,268 US with 4GB of RAM, i7 CPU, 2TB HD + 256GB SSD, and AppleCare. And I'd buy an Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD to replace the 256GB SSD.

    Otherwise, the 27" screen is $999. The Mac Pro six-core @ 3.33, 6GB RAM, 1TB HD, 5870, would be about $4k right?

    Obviously, I'd prefer the Mac Pro, and I'm thinking that would be the better machine to go for as the GPU is upgradable and I wouldn't have to upgrade each year for the GPU performance, not that the 5850M is anywhere near as good as the 5870 1GB though.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    What do you need the machine for? Sounds to me like you are into hardcore gaming. If so, you should probably get a PC. MacPro is an overkill unless you are doing professional photo/video editing or statistical simulations.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Nah, I'd rather not get a PC, haha. I'm a programmer, primarily, so I run several Windows VMs with Parallels, and do web design, graphic design, etc. I also use XCode for iDevice apps.

    Hardcore gaming, well, I like to run things as high as I possibly can on a 27" monitor :p and, I can always overclock the 5870 in the Mac Pro, since they have such good cooling. A bit more comforting something going wrong with a ~400 card than an irreplaceable (afaik) 5850M.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    For me, I got sick of maintaining a separate tower and needing a special place to put it.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #5
    Well, a good chunk of your iMac configuration comes from the 2TB + 256SSD, which you left off of your MacPro.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    I know, however I could pick up a 2TB HD and easily add it to the Mac Pro later for about the same price as it is to upgrade from the 1TB to the 2TB in the iMac. Also, I don't want Apple's 256GB SSD. Which means I have to go through the hassle of selling it, I imagine I'd make somewhat of a loss on it too.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #7
    Why don't you want the Apple SSD?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Well, primarily because I don't know the brand. I know that in terms of random read & writes, etc. and the little things that matter, that the Intel X25-M G2 160GB is the best or is at least in the top 3 (it was the best when released).

    Do you happen to know what SSD they use? 256GB would be good for me, I've only ever used an Intel SSD and I don't trust anything else.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #9
    It sounds like you need a tower, so I would go with the Mac Pro. You could sell the iMac to help fund it if that's what you need to do, or you can use it as a monitor since it excepts mini-displayport inputs.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #10
    I remember reading some discussions throughout the past few days on the iMac forum about what the SSD might be.

    Do a search and check out what people say. My honest opinion is that you shouldn't switch it out. If memory serves right tue discussions concluded that it's a very good SSD. Of course there are options out there that are better, but would you really notice the increase in performance? Even if you could (doubtful) would it be worth losing $$ AND capacity?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Hisdem

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Brasília, Brazil
    #11
    Apple's SSD on notebooks is Toshiba branded. Can't tell if the iMac uses the same though.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    I think I'd sell it, I'd rather not use it as a monitor.
    I'll do a search and check it out. It depends, if the difference isn't greatly noticeable, then I'd say it wouldn't be worth it
    Ah interesting, thanks.
     

Share This Page