After Effects Motion Tracking

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Espnetboy3, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. Espnetboy3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #1
    Ok I have footage of a Temple looking church in brooklyn that I shot handheld. Its about 300 yards away. Now I would like to add to this church maybe add a tower ontop of it with a digitmatte. My question is normally I would track this top of the church with a 1 point position track. I have done that and a 4 pt corner pin (perspective) to match a tv pan or something. With this becuase i zoom in at the end I figured to click on the scale option and use a 2 pt track. Could someone simply explain the best way to do a scale or rotation what these mean basically? I would apreciate it


    --- I tried it and basically tracked the building top with 1 pt and the 2nd pt i tracked something close to the camera figured it would scale it and it worked sort of but the things i added to track had a serious jitter to them and didnt look smooth. Would i have to go in to the trackers and fix this cause im not sure how.Thanks again
     
  2. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #2
    I'm not an After Effects guru by any means, but this sounds like an extremely difficult task to pull off.

    So you're trying to add a tower to a church that you shot handheld... Are you going for a realistic look? Even high-end production studios often end up putting lots of time into similar projects with unrealistic results.

    Post a video of what you've accomplished thus far, and it will help us in understanding what you're going for.

    MR users will always reply to posts with video attached:) .
     
  3. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    Hey, I've done some of that... Though I don't quite understand your explanation...
     
  4. Espnetboy3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #4
    I figured I took this still from the video. I want to simply add an extra piece like cg extension which I could do in photoshop becasue no parallax perspective change in the shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Espnetboy3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #5
    Well can anyone help me with wire/rig removal? I have taken a shot and used 2 tennis balls as tracking markers. Being that the shot is moving I do not have a background plate. Could someone help me out I dont know to much on how to do this without a plate(camera movement)?
     
  6. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Berkshires, Mass.
    #6
    You may be able to get rid of the jitter in the motion tracking by deleting a bunch of splines in the tracking data. You can make your own plate by choosing a frame of the video and painting out the tennis balls. Then export a tiff of that one frame and then import it as a background plate. Make a roto around the tennis balls so the background plate shows through.

    Edit: oh yeah, you need to apply the motion tracking data to the background plate layer so it moves with the foreground.
     
  7. Espnetboy3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #7
    Thanks Ras that makes alot of sense . Is this what they normally do? Or take like wire removal plugins in combustion or AE that pulls the pixles on each side of the wire to cover it up? Thanks again
     
  8. RAS admin macrumors regular

    RAS admin

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Berkshires, Mass.
    #8
    I've never tried the plugins but I have done wire/rig removal for a stop-motion animation TV show. I usually had background plates supplied, but these were rarely a perfect match for the duration of the clip, and sometimes there was too much camera movement for the plates to be helpful. I would usually either use the background plates and change the brightness/hue when necessary, or just clone/superclone over the wire/rig when there was camera movement. I guess the plugins do the same thing as cloning.
     
  9. Espnetboy3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    #9
    Ok so I made a tower in photoshop and wanted to add it to the top of that picture i posted. The picture is a frame from the footage. I motion tracked with 1 point the top of the tower. Well the right side of the curve and when i play it back it plays a bit jittery very small but extremely noticable. Could this be due to the fact the image seems to be all in one color tone?
     

Share This Page