After logic board replacement, Macbook won't connect to internet

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by chimaki, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #1
    So I've had a problem with my internet connection since a logic board replacement last week. It recognizes the network, but won't connect to the internet. When checking network diagnostics it says Self-Assigned IP or something to that effect. So on the home network I powered down the router and cable modem and this worked. The problem is now with a network at school. This network requires a webpage sign in for access, like wireless found in airports, etc. When I open either safari or firefox I simply get the screen that shows not connected to the internet, not the re-direct to the sign in. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    So you can connect to networks, just not to the internet? And your home connection is stable now?
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #3
    If your logic board has changed it is likely that you have been given a new mac address. Do you have mac filtering set up on you router? You will need to update the mac address in there.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #4
    correct.



    not on the school network, from what i can tell. its set up in a similar fashion to airports/hotel/cafe wireless. you connect to network, open browser, and then get a re-direct to the sign-in page. in my present scenario I open browser and get nothing. I check the network diagnostics and I get the self-assigned IP thing that I also had on the home network before a reboot of the whole network.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #5
    Ok that makes sense, also just check to make sure there are no proxy settings in network preferences. If there are proxy settings then it will stop you from doing anything - The apple store might have used them to download updates or what ever
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #6
    I have the same problem, I think.

    I picked up my Macbook today from the store after having the Logic Board and Superdrive replaced. I stupidly didn't check to see if everything was in working order, and now I can't reach the internet. Its nearly two hours of driving back and forth to the closest Apple Store so I really don't want to go if I don't have to.

    My PC's are all connected to my router via wifi and reach the internet fine. I also tried to connect to a neighbor's wifi and couldn't reach the internet that way from the Macbook.

    I spent 30 minutes on the phone with Applecare, and they didn't know how to fix it (despite being very polite and patient with me while I restarted my router).

    I tried the proxies but I haven't been able to find a real solution on my own or on the internet. Help!!!
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #7
    same problem!

    no help here??? :confused:
     
  8. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #8
    Tried trashing the airport and network preferences, or the simpler method of creating a new user to see if the problem is still there.

    Preferences can get messed up with HW changes ... if it still has problems with a new user doing an SMC reset is usually the last resort before calling Apple Care for repair.

    1. new user eliminates preferences as a problem.

    2. SMC reset and pram reset eliminates the simple HW issues.
     

Share This Page