OS X Age of Empires 2 HD on Parallels

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by stev0190, Sep 2, 2013.

  1. stev0190
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #1
    Hi I just started playing AoE 2 HD on Parallels with my MacBook Pro and I can't seem to figure out how some of the controls correlate. For instance, my "delete" key doesn't delete buildings or units.

    Is there a site that will tell me how the controls correlate? Or can someone just tell me some of the useful hotkeys from Macs?

    Thanks
     
  2. stev0190
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
  3. WMD
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Florida, USA
  4. JLarson
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #4
    lol i cant believe you still play aoe2!
    I though no one ever did. favorite game by far.
    how did you get the mac version?
     
  5. collinmac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC
    #5
  6. Deelron
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #6
    Not only that they're actually releasing an expansion soon "The Forgotten."
     
  7. liquidtwitch
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    #7
    pretty sure if you use fn you can delete buildings etc. such a good game!
     
  8. Dirtyharry50
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #8
    I haven't bothered to check AppDB yet but has anyone tried this game out with Wineskin? It would be nice if that worked although I do have Parallels setup if need be. Anything to avoid the dreaded reboots! lol
     
  9. stev0190
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #9
    thanks guys...i just changed the hotkeys... there is no mac version (pretty sure its only available in windows version) so i just started playing it again on parallels through windows using my macbook... i only started playing again bc they came out with this HD version not too long ago and soon are coming out with the new expansion...
     
  10. doh123
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #10
    Would be nice to know how it works if anyone has tried Wineskin (or anything else using Wine). I always loved AoE2.

    Looks like people have gotten it to run in Linux, so I think a Wineskin port should be possible.
    http://steamcommunity.com/app/221380/discussions/2/828935361270250345/
     
  11. JLarson
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #11
    is this an actual expansion or a fan mod?
     
  12. collinmac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Chilliwack, BC
  13. mizaco
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    #13
    Do people really still play this game? I mean really?
     
  14. Deelron
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #14
    I would guess enough people bought it when it was released on Steam for an official expansion (not that it would have been a ton of work), and there was a moderate line to play it at PAX, so I guess enough people do to make it worth while.
     
  15. tillsbury
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #15
    Excellent stuff, it rocks. Only thing I use Windows 8 Parallels for... :)
     
  16. jav6454
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Serious?
     
  17. Deelron
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #17
    Haha yes, there were actually at PAX demoing it and handing out bandanas promoting it.
     
  18. karlth
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #18
    Be warned that it lags considerably with many units on screen, even on a powerful pure Windows machine.

    Great, great game though!
     
  19. di1in
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    di1in

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
  20. di1in
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    di1in

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #20
    Are you able to play multiplayer with this version using parallels?
     

Share This Page