Age of Mythology

Discussion in 'Games' started by thumper, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. beaverclea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    #2
    I got the same thing. The apple store had no idea when they would get it. At compUSA they told me it might be in tommorrow. And at microcenter they didn't have it either. Mac games just don't have the same sales volume. I haven't even seen that many postings for AOM on many mac websites.
     
  2. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  3. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
    #4
    still waiting for this game. no where in sight

    ;)
     
  4. Golem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    #5
    Hopefully saturday, the only shop in sydney that I know has it for sure is a nice ride away but I am waiting for a backordered throttle cable.
     
  5. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    I picked up the game today. I'm able to load the game on my iBook 700mhz Dual USB with 16MB Radeon and 640MB RAM.

    However, I'm unable to get the game to load on my G4 Tower, 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, and GeForce 2MX. Returns an error of "Failed To Initialize" and quits to the desktop.

    Both machines are running OS X 10.3.1.
     
  6. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  7. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #8
    My friends got it for my birthday, obviously thinking it would arrive. Now its 9 days past my birthday, and still...NOTHING...I want to play soo bad. I have the PC version, but I love to play games on the mac cause everything doesn't slow down...When I play it on Windows, the WHOLE system is soo slow after I finish playing the game. And it sucks that we can't play with PC people. oh well..
     
  8. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  9. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #10
    The worker in Age of Empires II builds the houses and such in the order of the last one you added and then works back from there. It seems consistent, so if you want them to work in order, just build one at a time or just tell the worker which one to work on.
     
  10. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  11. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #12
    I don't know, I never noticed it. I usually have a few workers work on a good 20 houses and then go off to do something else such as building a massive army so I don't notice anything besides them gravitating to the ones I last laid out to be built instead of the earlier ones. As far as Age of Myth is concerned, it looks awesome, I can't wait to see it in stores. Besides that game, the only other game I want to see on the Mac is the new Myst sequel.
     
  12. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  13. beaverclea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
  14. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  15. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Still no luck with my G4 tower :( Maybe it's the Nvidia card? I've been meaning to upgrade to a new Radeon but I shouldn't have to for AoM. Hell, it runs great on my iBook G3 700 with a 16MB Radeon, better than WC3!

    Ugh!
     
  16. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #17
    Yeah I noticed that Sacrfice was borked with NV cards too. Works great on a system with a RADEON 9000. Strange.

    Talk about two chips makers going in opposite directions eh?

    I will definitely get AoM
     
  17. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #18
    Is it out on shelves now? I didn't see it yesterday when I looked, they just had Age of Empires II Gold, which I already have.
     
  18. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea
  19. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #20
    That does suck, I am impatient about waiting for shipping to get it to me and I dislike using credit cards in general. Not to mention, most often than not, my packages arrive to me beaten all to hell.
     
  20. Foucault macrumors 6502

    Foucault

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #21
    I went to the Apple Store in the Glendale Galleria for my lunch break, and they have 5 AOM in stock. Ima get one after I cash my paycheck.
     
  21. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
  22. thumper thread starter macrumors 6502

    thumper

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Under the Sea

Share This Page