Age of the Empires 3

Discussion in 'Games' started by Monsanto-Man, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. Monsanto-Man
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Monsanto-Man

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #1
    Does anyone know when Age of the Empires 3 will be available for OS X??? Thanks.
     
  2. Aarow
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #2
    That would be pretty sweet if/when they make a port. Age of Empires II was awesome!
     
  3. jamdr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    jamdr

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    Unfortunately, it will likely never be ported to the Mac because it uses the havoc physics engine (which isn't available on the Mac).
     
  4. blueflame
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    blueflame

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Location:
    Studio City
    #4
    i loved empire earth

    its probably my most missed game
    on the mac
    andreas
     
  5. pknz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #5
    What he said, Havoc engine not going to happen.

    Empire Earth is not AOEIII
     
  6. Studawg7
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Location:
    Cville, VA
    #6
    but both Empire Earth and AoE are SWEEEEEET games

    i lost many hours with both franchises
     
  7. Monsanto-Man
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Monsanto-Man

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #7
    Info

    Thanks for the info, leave it to Microcrash to incorporate the havoc physics engine...
     
  8. cantthinkofone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #8
    i played the demo of AOE III when i had my windows comp still around a few weeks ago, and i must say it wasn't that great. Yea it looked dam good, but it just wasn't fun. Id take AOE II over III any day. Just my opinion.
     
  9. Monsanto-Man
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Monsanto-Man

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #9
    Not that great.

    The graphics look stunnning indeed. What specifically is lacking in AE III. Thanks.
     
  10. cantthinkofone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #10
    i had the demo, and one thing i noticed right off was the mouse scrolling was VERY jumpy. You had to throw your mouse on the edge of the screen to move it. I dont really know how to explain it but it just wasn't that fun. I didn't get the feeling that i had a huge army and or navy and could destroy any thing in my path.

    The demo maps went very big, and the home city idea is good, but i dont really like it. The icons for buildings, and units are kinda confusing. What i thought i was training didn't come out what i thought it would be, and didn't seem very powerful. A devision of archers in AOE II was the best offense i know of, but a devision of musketeers didn't seem that powerful.

    I think its out now isn't it? If so it should be out for macs soon, will have to play the final release demo to see if i like it better. I think its personal opinion for this one.
     

Share This Page